Home >North America Map > Where is Bahamas

Where is Bahamas

Share |
Haiti Location Map
The Bahamas is an island country of North Atlantic Ocean. It is a group of several small islands located north of Cuba, Dominican Republic, and Haiti. The capital city of the Bahamas is Nassau.
Historically, the Bahamas became a Crown Colony in the year 1718. After the American independence, many of the pro-British loyalists and African slaves settled on these islands and set up a plantation economy. However, the slavery was abolished in 1834 and likewise most of the inhabitants of the Bahamas are now the descendants of enslaved and liberated Africans.
Geographically, this Atlantic Ocean group of islands is separated from USA by strait of Florida in the west. The nearest island to the United States is Bimini, which is more commonly known as the gateway to The Bahamas. The largest island is Andros Island and the southernmost is Inagua. Some other significant islands are - Eleuthera, Long Island, Cat Island, Acklins, San Salvador Island, Crooked Island, Mayaguana, and Exuma. The capital city Nassau is located on the island of New Providence.
The climate of The Bahamas is subtropical to tropical type. However, another important factor that moderates the climate of the Bahamas is Gulf Stream, warm North Atlantic Ocean current.
The Bahamas is an independent sovereign nation having a parliamentary democracy with two main parties.
The Bahamas’ tourism is very much developed because the region has sufficient reason to attract tourists from all corners of the world. This is the reason that country’s almost half of all jobs are occupied by the Bahamas tourism.