List of Australia States and Capitals

The following is the list of Australia states and capitals in alphabetical order. Australia is divided into six states, three internal territories and seven external territories.

Map of Australian Capital Cities

Australia States and Capitals Map
About Map: Map showing Australia States and their capital and major cities. Map Credit-
Australia Location MapCities in AustraliaWhere is MelbourneWhere is SydneyWhere is PerthWhere is Adelaide

Capital city of states and territories of Australia

There are eight capital cities in Australia, Canberra is the capital city of Australia.

Australia is divided into six states (New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, and Western Australia), three internal territories (the Australian Capital Territory, the Jervis Bay Territory, and the Northern Territory), and seven external territories (Ashmore and Cartier Islands, the Australian Antarctic Territory, Christmas Island, the Cocos (Keeling) Islands, the Coral Sea Islands, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, and Norfolk Island).

List of Capital Cities of Australia:

State / TerritoryISO CodeTypeCapitalPopulation (2020)Area (sq km)
New South WalesAU-NSWStateSydney8,157,735809,952
South AustraliaAU-SAStateAdelaide1,767,2471,044,353
Western AustraliaAU-WAStatePerth2,656,1562,642,753
Australian Capital TerritoryACTTerritoryCanberra429,8342,358
Jervis Bay TerritoryACTTerritoryNone (Jervis Bay Village)40567
Northern TerritoryNTTerritoryDarwin245,3531,419,630
Ashmore and Cartier Islands Ext. TerritoryNone0199
Australian Antarctic TerritoryAQExt. TerritoryNone (Davis Station)605,896,500
Christmas IslandCXExt. TerritoryFlying Fish Cove1,938135
Cocos (Keeling) IslandsCCExt. TerritoryWest Island54714
Coral Sea Islands Ext. TerritoryNone (Willis Island)4780,000
Heard Island and McDonald IslandsHMExt. TerritoryNone (Atlas Cove)0372
Norfolk IslandNFExt. TerritoryKingston1,75835