FIFA World Cup Winners List (1930 to 2018)

FIFA World cup finals winners history from 1930 to 2018. The full list of World Cup Winners is listed below.

FIFA World Cup Winners History

Who will win the FIFA World Cup of 2022 the twenty-second edition of quadrennial football tournament? Here is the list of all the winners of FIFA World Cup from 1930 to 2018 (First edition to Twenty-first edition of FIFA World Cup).

The FIFA World Cup is a men`s football tournament, contested by the teams of the international associations. The FIFA World Cup is conducted once in every years. The first edition of FIFA World Cup did take place in the year 1930. To win and become member among the Winners List of FIFA World Cup is in fact the dream of any football team in the world. It is the most prestigious world cup where millions of people are diehard fans. The first team to join in the Winners List of FIFA World Cup is Uruguay in the year 1930. The team won against the Argentina and scored 4 goals while the defeated team scored only two goals. The host for the first edition of the FIFA World Cup is Uruguay. The credit of winning the FIFA World Cup for FIVE Times goes to Brazil and Brazil holds the record of having played all the tournaments of FIFA World Cup. There are two other teams, which hold the second position of winning the FIFA World Cup and to join the Winners List of FIFA World Cup, are Germany and Italy, which won four titles each. Argentina, France and Uruguay won the FIFA World Cup title twice each. There are only two teams, which won the title of FIFA World Cup only once namely England and Spain.

The last FIFA World Cup was held in the year 2018 in Russia. It was the 21st FIFA World Cup or twenty-first edition of the FIFA World Cup. The winning team of the 2018 FIFA World Cup is France. There were 32 teams contested in this tournament. France played the final match with Croatia and scored 4 goals at Luzhniki Stadium.

FIFA World Cup Winners List is provided on this page. You can check right from first edition to the latest edition of FIFA World Cup Winner List here.

Brazil is the most successful team having won the five times title followed by Italy and Germany have won four titles each. There are 17 countries have hosted the FIFA World Cup. FIFA World cup hosted twice each the Brazil, France, Italy, Germany and Mexico, while Argentina, Chile, England, Japan, Switzerland, Sweden, Spain, the United States, Uruguay, South Korea, South Africa and Russia have each hosted once. FIFA World Cup 2022 scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022.

FIFA World Cup Winners List (1930 to 2022)

YearWinnersScoreRunners-upThird PlaceVenueHost
2022-- -Lusail Iconic StadiumLusail (Doha), Qatar
2018France4-2CroatiaBelgiumLuzhniki StadiumMoscow, Russia
2014Germany1-0ArgentinaNetherlandsEstádio do MaracanãRio de Janeiro, Brazil
2010Spain1-0NetherlandsGermanySoccer CityJohannesburg, South Africa
2006Italy1-1FranceGermanyOlympiastadionBerlin, Germany
2002Brazil2-0GermanyTurkeyInternational StadiumYokohama, Japan
1998France3-0BrazilCroatiaStade de FranceSaint-Denis (Paris), France
1994Brazil0-0ItalySwedenRose BowlPasadena (Los Angeles), United States
1990West Germany1-0ArgentinaItalyStadio OlimpicoRome, Italy
1986Argentina3-2West GermanyFranceEstadio AztecaMexico City, Mexico
1982Italy3-1West GermanyPolandSantiago BernabéuMadrid, Spain
1978Argentina3-1NetherlandsBrazilEstadio MonumentalBuenos Aires, Argentina
1974West Germany2-1NetherlandsPolandOlympiastadionMunich, West Germany
1970Brazil4-1ItalyWest GermanyEstadio AztecaMexico City, Mexico
1966England4-2West GermanyPortugalWembley StadiumLondon, England
1962Brazil3-1CzechoslovakiaChileEstadio NacionalSantiago, Chile
1958Brazil5-2SwedenFranceRåsunda StadiumSolna (Stockholm), Sweden
1954West Germany3-2HungaryAustriaWankdorf StadiumBern, Switzerland
1950Uruguay2-1BrazilSwedenEstádio do MaracanãRio de Janeiro, Brazil
1938Italy4-2HungaryBrazilStade Olympique de ColombesColombes (Paris), France
1934Italy2-1CzechoslovakiaGermanyStadio Nazionale PNFRome, Italy
1930Uruguay4-2ArgentinaUnited StatesEstadio CentenarioMontevideo, Uruguay

Nations with most FIFA World Cup titles in history

The FIFA World Cup trophy has been won by eight national teams. Brazil have won five times, followed by Italy and Germany which won by 4 times, and Argentina, France and Uruguay each won 2 times.

Most FIFA World Cup Winners 1930-2022
TeamNo. of WinsYear
Brazil51958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002
Italy41934, 1938, 1982, 2006
Germany31954, 1974, 1990, 2014
Argentina21978, 1986
France21998, 2018
Uruguay21930, 1950