NATO Member Countries, NATO Countries List 2022

What is NATO?

NATO stands for North Atlantic Treaty Organization. NATO is an Alliance that consists of 30 member states from North America and Europe. The North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO) is an established group of 30 countries and its prime goal is to guarantee liberty and security for its members. To be very specific NATO is a diplomatic agreement of military alliance among the participating countries. NATO consists of 28 European countries, 2 North American countries. NATO is also known as North Atlantic Alliance. NATO headquarters is situated in Brussels in Belgium. NATO promotes a system of collective security and renders military alliance and assistance for its members, which are independent countries by themselves. By joining NATO, the countries agree for mutual defence, in case any other country attacks or threatens the liberty of NATO members.

History of NATO

The United States of America along with some of the Western European nations formed the North Atlantic Treaty Organization in the year 1949 to provide collective security against the Soviet Union. Countries have witnessed the massive destruction of the Second World War. European Countries found it very difficult to rebuild their economies and provide security to their citizens. Post war there were a lot of problems European countries faced. The United States of America looked a little better in all aspects like economy, weapons, and so on. The secretary of state Marshall came up with an idea of establishing a programme, which intended to reconstruct the economy, and integrate the countries. This innovative idea of Marshall has also promoted the idea of shared interests. The idea of establishing NATO gradually finds its genesis here.

Participating Countries of NATO

The list of countries which are the members of North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) is furnished in the table below.

NATO Countries List

Member stateCapitalContinentJoin DatePopulationArea
AlbaniaTiranaEurope1 April 20092,821,97728,748 km2 (11,100 sq mi)
BelgiumBrusselsEurope24 August 194911,720,71630,528 km2 (11,787 sq mi)
BulgariaSofiaEurope29 March 20046,966,899110,879 km2 (42,811 sq mi)
CanadaOttawaNoth America24 August 194937,694,0859,984,670 km2 (3,855,103 sq mi)
CroatiaZagrebEurope1 April 20094,227,74656,594 km2 (21,851 sq mi)
CzechiaPragueEurope12 March 199910,702,49878,867 km2 (30,451 sq mi)
DenmarkCopenhagenEurope24 August 19495,869,4102,210,000 km2 (853,286 sq mi)
EstoniaTallinnEurope29 March 20041,228,62445,228 km2 (17,463 sq mi)
FranceParisEurope24 August 194967,848,156643,427 km2 (248,429 sq mi)
GermanyBerlinEurope8 May 195580,159,662357,022 km2 (137,847 sq mi)
GreeceAthensEurope18 February 195210,607,051131,957 km2 (50,949 sq mi)
HungaryBudapestEurope12 March 19999,771,82793,028 km2 (35,918 sq mi)
IcelandReykjavíkEurope24 August 1949350,734103,000 km2 (39,769 sq mi)
ItalyRomeEurope24 August 194962,402,659301,340 km2 (116,348 sq mi)
LatviaRigaEurope29 March 20041,881,23264,589 km2 (24,938 sq mi)
LithuaniaVilniusEurope29 March 20042,731,46465,300 km2 (25,212 sq mi)
LuxembourgLuxembourgEurope24 August 1949628,3812,586 km2 (998 sq mi)
MontenegroPodgoricaEurope5 June 2017609,85913,812 km2 (5,333 sq mi)
NetherlandsAmsterdamEurope24 August 194917,280,39741,543 km2 (16,040 sq mi)
North MacedoniaSkopjeEurope27 March 20202,125,97125,713 km2 (9,928 sq mi)
NorwayOsloEurope24 August 19495,467,439323,802 km2 (125,021 sq mi)
PolandWarsawEurope12 March 199938,282,325312,685 km2 (120,728 sq mi)
PortugalLisbonEurope24 August 194910,302,67492,090 km2 (35,556 sq mi)
RomaniaBucharestEurope29 March 200421,302,893238,391 km2 (92,043 sq mi)
SlovakiaBratislavaEurope29 March 20045,440,60249,035 km2 (18,933 sq mi)
SloveniaLjubljanaEurope29 March 20042,102,67820,273 km2 (7,827 sq mi)
SpainMadridEurope30 May 198247,260,584505,370 km2 (195,124 sq mi)
TurkeyAnkaraEurope18 February 195282,017,514783,562 km2 (302,535 sq mi)
United KingdomLondonEurope24 August 194965,761,117243,610 km2 (94,058 sq mi)
United StatesWashington, D.C.Noth America24 August 1949332,639,1029,833,520 km2 (3,796,743 sq mi)

NATO partner Countries

Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Finland, Georgia, Ireland, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Malta, The Republic of Moldova, Montenegro, Russia, Serbia, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan

Countries Groupings

Edited by: Vijay | Updated On: March 06, 2022