List of U.S. Territories, Territories of the United States

U.S. Territories - This is list of Territories of the United States, Currently the USA has five major U.S. territories: American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The United States of America is a federal republic consisting of 50 states, a federal district.

Territories of the United States

United States territories are subnational administrative divisions that are under the control of the federal government of the United States. Some of the US territories do not have independent status unlike the American States. US territories are considered to be a part of the United States because they are governed by American law. Particularly, unincorporated territories of the US are not regarded as being fundamentally a part of the United States, and the Constitution of the United States only partially applies there.

There are 14 US Territories spread across the Pacific and Caribbean oceans. Three territories in the Caribbean Ocean and eleven in the Pacific Ocean are currently under US administration. The fourteen US territories are Puerto Rico, Guam, US Virgin Islands, Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, Midway Atoll, Palmyra Atoll, Baker Island, Howland Island, Jarvis Island, Johnston Atoll, Kingman Reef, Wake Island and Navassa Island. There are five unincorporated, permanently populated territories and they are American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Among these US territories, American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands and the United States Virgin Islands have their own government. These are territories only inhabited among all. Of the US Territories, Puerto Rico has the largest population and has a population over 3.3 million.

The U.S. territories all have different economies, from American Samoa to Puerto Rico. Puerto Rico had a GDP of $104.989 billion in 2019 and American Samoa had a GDP of $636 million in 2018. Puerto Rico exported commodities worth around $18 billion, with the Netherlands being its main market. The Northern Mariana Islands' GDP decreased by 19.6% in 2018, Guam's GDP decreased by 0.3%, Puerto Rico's GDP increased by 1.18% in 2019, and the U.S. Virgin Islands' GDP increased by 1.5% in 2018. American Samoa is the US territory with the lowest per-capita income.

States and DC

United States has 50 States and a Federal District known as District of Columbia.

List of Territories of the United States

TerritoriesLocationAcquiredCapitalLargest townPopulation (2021)Area
American Samoa (AS)Polynesia (South Pacific)April 17, 1900Pago PagoTafuna46,36676 sq mi (197.1 km2)
Guam (GU)Micronesia (North Pacific)April 11, 1899HagåtñaDededo168,801210 sq mi (543 km2)
Northern Mariana Islands (MP)Micronesia (North Pacific)November 4, 1986SaipanSaipan51,659179 sq mi (463.63 km2)
Puerto Rico (PR)Caribbean (North Atlantic)April 11, 1899San JuanSan Juan3,142,7793,515 sq mi (9,104 km2)
U.S. Virgin Islands (VI)Caribbean (North Atlantic)March 31, 1917Charlotte AmalieCharlotte Amalie105,870134 sq mi (346.36 km2)

Five major U.S. Territories

There are five major territories of the United States: Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Northern Mariana Islands, and Guam. A territory is a part of the United States that is not a state.

American Samoa

American Samoa is an unincorporated territory of the United States, situated southeast of the Samoan island nation in the South Pacific Ocean. The total land area of American Samoa is 199 square kilometers. The territory of American Samoa is made up of five main islands and two coral atolls. The five Islands of American Samoa are Tutuila, Aunu`u, Ofu, Olosega, and Ta`u. Rose Atoll and Swains Island are the two atolls of American Samoa. According to Worldometer's elaboration of the most recent United Nations data, Samoa has 201,470 people.


Guam is an organized, unincorporated US territory located in the western Pacific Ocean's Micronesia sub region. It is located at the westernmost point of United States. The capital of Guam is Hagata. The largest island in Micronesia is Guam, which is also the southernmost and largest of the Mariana Islands. The total land area of Guam is 540 Km2 (208 sq. miles). The current population of Guam is 172,206 according to the United Nations data.

Northern Mariana Islands

The Northern Mariana Islands, also known as the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, are a group of 14 unincorporated islands in the northwest Pacific Ocean and a commonwealth of the United States. Saipan is the capital of Northern Mariana Islands. The total land area is 460 Km2. According to the most recent United Nations estimates, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands have 58,355 residents.

Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico, officially known as the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, is an unincorporated territory of the United States located in the Caribbean. It is situated between the Dominican Republic and the U.S. Virgin Islands in the northeastern Caribbean Sea, approximately 1,600 kilometers southeast of Miami, Florida. The total land area of Puerto Rico is 8,870 Km2. The current population of Puerto Rico is 2,688,659.

U.S. Virgin Islands

US Virgin Islands are a group Caribbean islands and an unorganized and organized territory of the United States. The official name of US Virgin Islands is Virgin Islands of the United States. The islands are situated in the Lesser Antilles' Leeward Islands, east of Puerto Rico and west of the British Virgin Islands, and are geographically a part of the Virgin Islands archipelago. The territory's entire land area is 133.73 square miles (346.36 km2). Charlotte Amalie serves as the territory's capital. According to Worldometer's elaboration of the most recent United Nations data, the United States Virgin Islands have 104,068 residents.

Related Links

  • U.S. State Map
  • USA Region Map
  • National Parks in USA
  • USA County Map
  • Where is USA
  • US ZIP Code Map
  • Cities in USA
  • US State and Capitals Map
  • USA Road Map
  • U.S. Uninhabited Territories or Outlying Areas

    S.NNameAcquiredTerritorial statusArea
    1Baker Island1856"Unincorporated; unorganized"0.9 sq mi (2.2 km2)
    2Howland Island1858"Unincorporated,unorganized"0.6 sq mi (1.6 km2)
    3Jarvis Island1856"Unincorporated, unorganized"2.2 sq mi (5.7 km2)
    4Johnston Atoll1859"Unincorporated, unorganized"1 sq mi (2.6 km2)
    5Kingman Reef1860"Unincorporated, unorganized"0.005 sq mi (0.01 km2)
    6Midway Atoll1867"Unincorporated,unorganized"3 sq mi (7.8 km2)
    7Navassa Island1858"Unincorporated,unorganized"3 sq mi (7.8 km2)
    8Palmyra Atoll1898"Incorporated,unorganized"1.5 sq mi (3.9 km2)
    9Wake Island1899Unincorporated, unorganized2.5 sq mi (6.5 km2)

    Disputed Territories

    NameClaimedTerritorial statusAreaAdministered byAlso claimed by
    Bajo Nuevo Bank (Petrel Island)1869Unincorporated, unorganized
    (disputed sovereignty)
    56 sq mi (145 km2)ColombiaJamaica
    Serranilla Bank1880Unincorporated, unorganized
    (disputed sovereignty)
    463 sq mi (1,200 km2)ColombiaHonduras

    Territorial disputes between Canada and the United States

    TerritoryCanadian claimantU.S. claimant
    Machias Seal IslandNew BrunswickMaine
    North RockNew BrunswickMaine