Nevada County Map, List of Counties in Nevada with Seats

The U.S. state of Nevada is divided into 16 counties and 1 independent city. Explore the Nevada County Map, all Counties list along with their County Seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

Nevada County Map

About Counties of Nevada

Nevada is one of the states of United States which is located in the Western part of the country. It is the seventh largest state by area in United States. The total area of the state is 109781 square miles. Nevada was added in the union on 31st October1864 making it as the 36th state of United States. The U.S state of Nevada shares the borders with California to the West, Utah in the east, Idaho in northeast, Oregon in the northwest, Arizona is situated in southeast. The state is ninth least densely populated state of U.S. The capital city of the state is Carson City. Carson City is in fact the independent city. The state is also called as Battle-Born State, Sagebrush State, and Silver State.

Nevada Counties are 16 in number and it has one independent city. Clark County is the most populous county in the state while Esmeralda County is the least populated county. Among Nevada Counties Nye County is the biggest county by area. The smallest county by area in the state is Storey County. The ten largest cities of the state are Las Vegas, Henderson, Reno, Paradise, North Las Vegas, Sunrise Manor, Spring Valley, Enterprise, Sparks and Carson City.

The local government of the state consists of 16 counties, 19 cities, towns and 137 special districts. Nevada Counties` have local government to make smooth function for the citizen of the state. All Nevada Counties have the legislative and executive body of the government which is known as the governing body that consists of Board of Supervisors. Special Districts are also a kind of local governance which is created by a local community to meet specific needs.

The U.S. state of Nevada has 16 counties and 1 independent city. This is list of Nevada Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order along with check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Counties in Nevada with County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
1Carson City(Independent city)55,274144 miĀ²1969
2Churchill CountyFallon24,8774,929 sq mi1861
3Clark CountyLas Vegas2,000,7597,911 sq mi1909
4Douglas CountyMinden46,997710 sq mi1861
5Elko CountyElko48,81817,182 sq mi1869
6Esmeralda CountyGoldfield7833,589 sq mi1861
7Eureka CountyEureka1,9874,176 sq mi1873
8Humboldt CountyWinnemucca16,1069,658 sq mi1861
9Lander CountyBattle Mountain5,7755,494 sq mi1861
10Lincoln CountyPioche5,34510,635 sq mi1866
11Lyon CountyYerington51,9801,994 sq mi1861
12Mineral CountyHawthorne4,7723,757 sq mi1911
13Nye CountyTonopah43,94618,147 sq mi1864
14Pershing CountyLovelock6,7536,009 sq mi1919
15Storey CountyVirginia City4,010264 sq mi1861
16Washoe CountyReno421,4076,342 sq mi1861
17White Pine CountyEly10,0308,877 sq mi1869
Edited by: Vijay Kanth | Updated On: June 13, 2022