List of Northern European Countries and Capitals

The northern region of Europe. Northern Europe can be divided into three parts: Scandinavia, the British Isles, and the Baltics. Given below is the map of Northern Europe countries along with their capitals and other details.

List of Northern European Countries and Capitals

List of Northern European countries and their capitals along with area, population and official languages details. Northern European countries are UK, Sweden, Norway, Ireland, Denmark etc.

CountryCapitalArea (sq miles)Population (2012)Official LanguageCountry CodeLat long
A…land IslandsMariehamn 13,517 km² 28007Swedish 358 
DenmarkCopenhagen 16,638.69 sq mi 5.59 million Danish 4555.7200° N, 12.5700° E
EstoniaTallinn 17,462 sq mi 1.339 million Estonian 37259.0000° N, 26.0000° E
Faeroe IslandsTórshavn 540 sq mi 49,506 Faroese, Danish 29862.0000° N, 6.7833° W
FinlandHelsinki 338,424 km² 5.414 million Finnish 35864.0000° N, 26.0000° E
GuernseyGuernsey24.5 sq mi 65573French 4449.4500° N, 2.5500° W
IcelandReykjavik 39,769320,137 Icelandic 35465.0000° N, 18.0000° W
IrelandDublin 32,599 square miles 4.589 million English 35353.0000° N, 8.0000° W
Isle of ManDouglas 221 sq mi 85,284 Manx , English4454.2500° N, 4.5000° W
JerseySaint Helier 119.5 km² 97857French 4449.1900° N, 2.1100° W
LatviaRiga 24,034 sq mi 2.025 million Latvian 37157.0000° N, 25.0000° E
LithuaniaVilnius 65,200 km² 2.986 million Lithuania 37055.5833° N, 24.1167° E
NorwayOslo 385,199 km² 5.019 million Norwegian, Nynorsk, Bokmal4761.0000° N, 8.0000° E
Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands 373 km² 2756Norwegian, Nynorsk, Bokmal4770.9833° N, 8.5333° W
SwedenStockholm 173,860 sq mi 9.517 million Swedish 4661.3167° N, 14.8333° E
UKLondon  63.23 million English 4453.5500° N, 2.4333° W

Featured Links

Eastern European CountriesWestern European CountriesSouthern European Countries
Northern European CountriesEurope Outline MapAfrica Map
Asia MapNorth America MapSouth America Map
Oceania MapList of European capitalsUSA Map

Northern European Countries

The northern region of Europe is called Northern Europe. A general definition of Northern Europe could include some or all of the places like the British Isles, Fennoscandia, the Jutland peninsula, the Baltic plain to the east, and the numerous islands that are located offshore of Northern Europe's mainland and the main European continent. Northern Europe is renowned for its diverse natural landscape, which includes vibrantly green forests, active volcanoes, and geysers.

A system developed by the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) that classifies the world's nations into regional and sub regional divisions is known as the United Nations geoscheme. According to the United Nations geoscheme, the following countries are classified as Northern Europe. Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Sweden, United Kingdom, Åland, Faroe Islands, Isle of Man, Svalbard and Jan Mayen are the Northern European Countries. Sweden is the largest country in Northern Europe, with a total land area of 450,295 km2 (173,860 square miles), and the sixth largest in all of Europe.

With the exception of the United Kingdom, Northern European Countries often have a small population compared to their size, with the majority of people residing in cities. Many countries in Northern Europe's educational system are ranked favorably in worldwide comparisons, with Estonia and Finland topping the list among OECD nations in Europe.

The economies of Northern European Countries are generally developed, and these nations also have some of the greatest living standards in the world. They frequently perform well on surveys of quality of life, such as the Human Development Index. In a large portion of Northern Europe, particularly in Scandinavia, Protestantism is the preeminent Christian tradition. Many European nations have sizable populations that practice non-Christian religions, especially Islam.