Eastern European Countries and Capitals

Eastern Europe is the eastern part of the European continent. Countries within Eastern Europe are Belarus, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Moldova, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Ukraine and the western part of the Russian Federation.

List of Eastern European Countries and Capitals

This is list of Eastern European countries and their capitals along with area, population, official language and Country code details. Eastern European countries includes Belarus, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Slovakia and Ukraine.

CountryCapitalArea (sq miles)Population (2012)Official LanguageCountry CodeLat long
BelarusMinsk 80,1399.49 million Russian Language, Belarusian 37553.5167° N, 28.7667° E
BulgariaSofia42,8557.305 millionBulgarian 35942.7500° N, 25.5000° E
Czech RepublicPrague30,45010.51 millionCzech Language42049.7500° N, 15.7500° E
HungaryBudapest35,9199.944 millionHungarian language3647.4981° N, 19.0400° E
PolandWarsaw120,72838.54 million Polish Language 4852.2167° N, 21.0333° E
Republic of MoldovaChisinau13,0683.56 million Moldovan language 37347.2500° N, 28.5167° E
RomaniaBucharest92,04321.33 million Romanian Language 4045.8667° N, 25.3000° E
Russian FederationMoscow6.602 million 143 million Russian Language 760.0000° N, 90.0000° E
SlovakiaBratislava18,9335.41 million Slovak Language 42148.6581° N, 19.5583° E
UkraineKiev233,06245.59 million Ukrainian Language 38049.0000° N, 32.0000° E

Featured Links

Eastern European CountriesWestern European CountriesSouthern European Countries
Northern European CountriesEurope Outline MapAfrica Map
Asia MapNorth America MapSouth America Map
Oceania MapList of European capitalsUSA Map

Eastern European Countries

Are you from one of the Eastern European Countries? Do you know these facts about Eastern European Countries? Scroll down to read more about Eastern European Countries.

Eastern Europe is located on the continent of Europe. The easternmost region of Europe is known as Eastern Europe. The phrase ‘Eastern Europe’ can be used to refer to a variety of geopolitical, geographic, racial, cultural, and socioeconomic phenomena. Eastern Europe contributes significantly to European culture, with Slavic and Greek traditions constituting its core sociocultural traits. There are 10 countries in Eastern Europe.

Eastern Europe comprises the nations of Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Romania, the Russian Federation, and Slovakia, as well as the republics of Belarus, Moldova, and Ukraine, according to the United Nations Statistics Division. Eastern Europe is commonly considered to be bounded on the north by the Baltic and Barents seas, on the south by the Adriatic, Black, and Caspian seas and the Caucasus Mountains, and on the east by the Ural Mountains. Among the Eastern European Countries, Russia is the largest and most populous country. Ukraine is the second biggest country by area, in Eastern Europe. The smallest eastern European country by area as well least populated is the Republic of Moldova.

Manufacturing industries play an important role in regional economics throughout Eastern Europe. The largest industrial nation among Eastern European Countries in the western part of the continent is the Czech Republic, whereas the largest urban and industrial areas in the eastern part are Ukraine, the Ural Mountains, and the region around the Volga River. Though the growing season in the north is short, the Eastern Europe region has excellent commercial forests and agricultural areas. Wheat and grain are produced in the nations around the Danube. Important goods include animals, potatoes, and rye. Ukraine is one of the major producers of wheat in Europe and has long been referred to as the "Breadbasket of the Soviet Union." The principal mineral resources of Eastern Europe are bauxite, coal, iron ore, oil, and petroleum.

Provided below is the Eastern European Countries Map, one can download the map and utilize it for your purpose.