Tennessee County Map, List of Counties in Tennessee with Seats

The U.S. state of Tennessee is divided into 95 Counties. Explore the Tennessee County Map, all Counties list along with their County Seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

Tennessee County Map

Tennessee County Map About Tennessee County Map: The map showing the county boundary, all counties boundary, state capital and neighbouring states.

Tennessee More Maps & Info

Tennessee MapWhere is TennesseeMap of Tennessee With Cities
Tennessee Physical MapTennessee Blank MapTennessee River Map
Tennessee Road MapWhere is MemphisWhere is Nashville
Tennessee Zip CodesAirports in TennesseeTennessee Area Codes

About Counties of Tennessee

Tennessee is one of the fifty- states of United States which is located in South-eastern part of the country. U.S state of Tennessee shares the borders with Kentucky in the north, North Carolina in the east, Georgia, Alabama and Mississippi in the south and Missouri in the northwest. The state is the thirty sixth biggest state in its size. The state occupies 42,143 square miles in the total area of the country. Tennessee ranks as the sixteenth most populous state in the country. The estimated population of the state is 6.95 million. U.S State of Tennessee joined in the year 1796 and became 16th state of the Union. The capital of Tennessee is Nashville which is the largest city in the state. The state is also known as Volunteer state as it had sent 1500 members of the army to the war of 1812.

Counties of Tennessee are 95 in number. Out of 95 counties, 3 counties have consolidated structure of government in which county governance is combined with city governance. Apart from these 3 counties, two counties have the home rule and the rest of 90 counties follow general county government. The local government of the state is divided into Counties of Tennessee, government entities, Municipalities and School Associations.

There are 346 municipalities in the state which consists of cities and towns of the state. Among the counties of Tennessee Shelby County has the highest number of population with 929,744 citizens. The least populated county in the state is Pickett County. Not only having maximum number of population Shelby is the biggest county by area. The tinniest county in terms of geographical area is Trousdale County. Of all the counties of Tennessee the wealthiest counties are Williamson, Wilson, Davidson and Knox. The poorest city in the state of Tennessee is Morristown. The biggest cities and towns of the state are Nashville, Memphis, Knoxville, Chattanooga and Clarksville.

The U.S. state of Tennessee has 95 Counties. This is list of Tennessee Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order along with check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Counties in Tennessee with County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
1Anderson CountyClinton75,129338 sq mi1801
2Bedford CountyShelbyville45,058474 sq mi1807
3Benton CountyCamden16,489394 sq mi1835
4Bledsoe CountyPikeville12,876406 sq mi1807
5Blount CountyMaryville123,010559 sq mi1795
6Bradley CountyCleveland98,963329 sq mi1836
7Campbell CountyJacksboro40,716480 sq mi1806
8Cannon CountyWoodbury13,801266 sq mi1836
9Carroll CountyHuntingdon28,522599 sq mi1821
10Carter CountyElizabethton57,424341 sq mi1796
11Cheatham CountyAshland City39,105303 sq mi1856
12Chester CountyHenderson17,131289 sq mi1879
13Claiborne CountyTazewell32,213434 sq mi1801
14Clay CountyCelina7,861236 sq mi1870
15Cocke CountyNewport35,662434 sq mi1797
16Coffee CountyManchester52,796429 sq mi1836
17Crockett CountyAlamo14,586265 sq mi1871
18Cumberland CountyCrossville56,053682 sq mi1855
19Davidson CountyNashville626,681502 sq mi1783
20Decatur CountyDecaturville11,757333 sq mi1845
21DeKalb CountySmithville18,723304 sq mi1837
22Dickson CountyCharlotte49,666490 sq mi1803
23Dyer CountyDyersburg38,335510 sq mi1823
24Fayette CountySomerville38,412705 sq mi1824
25Fentress CountyJamestown17,959499 sq mi1823
26Franklin CountyWinchester41,052553 sq mi1807
27Gibson CountyTrenton49,683603 sq mi1823
28Giles CountyPulaski29,485611 sq mi1809
29Grainger CountyRutledge22,657280 sq mi1796
30Greene CountyGreeneville68,831622 sq mi1783
31Grundy CountyAltamont13,703361 sq mi1844
32Hamblen CountyMorristown62,544161 sq mi1870
33Hamilton CountyChattanooga336,463543 sq mi1819
34Hancock CountySneedville6,819222 sq mi1844
35Hardeman CountyBolivar27,253668 sq mi1823
36Hardin CountySavannah26,026578 sq mi1819
37Hawkins CountyRogersville56,833487 sq mi1786
38Haywood CountyBrownsville18,787533 sq mi1823
39Henderson CountyLexington27,769520 sq mi1821
40Henry CountyParis32,330562 sq mi1821
41Hickman CountyCenterville24,690613 sq mi1807
42Houston CountyErin8,426200 sq mi1871
43Humphreys CountyWaverly18,538532 sq mi1809
44Jackson CountyGainesboro11,638309 sq mi1801
45Jefferson CountyDandridge51,407274 sq mi1792
46Johnson CountyMountain City18,244299 sq mi1836
47Knox CountyKnoxville432,226509 sq mi1792
48Lake CountyTiptonville7,832163 sq mi1870
49Lauderdale CountyRipley27,815470 sq mi1835
50Lawrence CountyLawrenceburg41,869617 sq mi1817
51Lewis CountyHohenwald12,161282 sq mi1843
52Lincoln CountyFayetteville33,361570 sq mi1809
53Loudon CountyLoudon48,556229 sq mi1870
54Macon CountyLafayette22,248307 sq mi1842
55Madison CountyJackson98,294557 sq mi1821
56Marion CountyJasper28,237500 sq mi1817
57Marshall CountyLewisburg30,617375 sq mi1836
58Maury CountyColumbia80,956613 sq mi1807
59McMinn CountyAthens52,266430 sq mi1819
60McNairy CountySelmer26,075560 sq mi1823
61Meigs CountyDecatur11,753195 sq mi1836
62Monroe CountyMadisonville44,519635 sq mi1819
63Montgomery CountyClarksville172,331539 sq mi1796
64Moore CountyLynchburg6,362129 sq mi1871
65Morgan CountyWartburg21,987522 sq mi1817
66Obion CountyUnion City31,807545 sq mi1823
67Overton CountyLivingston22,083433 sq mi1806
68Perry CountyLinden7,915415 sq mi1819
69Pickett CountyByrdstown5,077163 sq mi1879
70Polk CountyBenton16,825435 sq mi1839
71Putnam CountyCookeville72,321401 sq mi1854
72Rhea CountyDayton31,809316 sq mi1807
73Roane CountyKingston54,181361 sq mi1801
74Robertson CountySpringfield66,283477 sq mi1796
75Rutherford CountyMurfreesboro262,604619 sq mi1803
76Scott CountyHuntsville22,228532 sq mi1849
77Sequatchie CountyDunlap14,112266 sq mi1857
78Sevier CountySevierville89,889592 sq mi1794
79Shelby CountyMemphis927,644755 sq mi1819
80Smith CountyCarthage19,166314 sq mi1799
81Stewart CountyDover13,324458 sq mi1803
82Sullivan CountyBlountville156,823413 sq mi1779
83Sumner CountyGallatin160,645529 sq mi1786
84Tipton CountyCovington61,081459 sq mi1823
85Trousdale CountyHartsville7,870114 sq mi1870
86Unicoi CountyErwin18,313186 sq mi1875
87Union CountyMaynardville19,109224 sq mi1850
88Van Buren CountySpencer5,548247 sq mi1840
89Warren CountyMcMinnville39,839433 sq mi1807
90Washington CountyJonesborough122,979326 sq mi1777
91Wayne CountyWaynesboro17,021734 sq mi1817
92Weakley CountyDresden35,021580 sq mi1823
93White CountySparta25,841377 sq mi1806
94Williamson CountyFranklin202,686582 sq mi1799
95Wilson CountyLebanon113,993571 sq mi1799
Edited by: Vijay Kanth | Updated on: May 23, 2024