Massachusetts County Map, List of Counties in Massachusetts with Seats

The U.S. state of Massachusetts is divided into 14 Counties. Explore the Massachusetts County Map, all Counties list along with their County Seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

Massachusetts County Map

About Counties of Massachusetts

The US state of Massachusetts is located in the region of New England. Massachusetts is the seventh tiniest state in United States of America. The official name of the state is “Commonwealth of Massachusetts”. The state has high reputation for its top ratings in the fields of education and health, safety and quality of life. Massachusetts is bordered with Atlantic Ocean to the east, Connecticut to the southwest and Rhode Island to the southeast, New Hampshire to the northeast, Vermont to the northwest, New York to the west. The state spans in 7800 square miles which is 20202 square kilometres. The capital of the state is Boston. The capital city of the state has high rate of density of population with 675,647 that makes Boston as the most populous city in New England. Counties of Massachusetts are 14 in number. The largest county in the state by area is Worcester County and the smallest County is Nantucket County which is spread over 48 Square miles. Nantucket which is an island covers 30 miles by ferry. The second smallest county is Suffolk County and it consists of the cities of Boston, Chelsea, Revere and Winthrop. Among the Counties of Massachusetts Middlesex County has the most population in the state according to census taken in the year 2019. There is a rapid growth in the population. The least populated County in the state of Massachusetts is Dukes County. There are 57 cities and 294 towns in Massachusetts. Counties of Massachusetts are governed by an elected body of members generally known as county commission, board of supervisors, commissioners, council of the county, county court and County Legislature.

The U.S. state of Massachusetts has 14 Counties. This is list of Massachusetts Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order along with check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Counties in Massachusetts with County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
1Barnstable CountyBarnstable215,888396 sq mi1685
2Berkshire CountyPittsfield131,219931 sq mi1761
3Bristol CountyTaunton548,285556 sq mi1685
4Dukes CountyEdgartown16,535104 sq mi1695
5Essex CountySalem and Lawrence743,159498 sq mi1643
6Franklin CountyGreenfield71,372702 sq mi1811
7Hampden CountySpringfield463,490618 sq mi1812
8Hampshire CountyNorthampton158,080529 sq mi1662
9Middlesex CountyCambridge and Lowell1,503,085824 sq mi1643
10Nantucket CountyNantucket10,17248 sq mi1695
11Norfolk CountyDedham670,850400 sq mi1793
12Plymouth CountyPlymouth and Brockton494,919661 sq mi1685
13Suffolk CountyBoston722,02358 sq mi1643
14Worcester CountyWorcester798,5521,513 sq mi1731
Edited by: Vijay Kanth | Updated On: June 13, 2022