List of Western European Countries and Capitals

Western Europe is the western region of Europe. Western European countries are Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands and Switzerland.

List of Western European European Countries and Capitals

This is list of Western European countries and their capitals along with area, population and language details.

CountryCapitalArea (sq miles)Population (2012)Official LanguageCountry CodeLat long
AustriaVienna32,377 8.462 millionGerman4347.6000° N, 13.7833° E
BelgiumCity of Brussels11,787 11.14 millionFrench, German, Dutch 3250.5333° N, 4.7667° E
FranceParis 260,558 65.7 millionFrench3347.0000° N, 2.0000° E
GermanyBerlin 137,84681.89 million German4951.5167° N, 9.9167° E
LiechtensteinVaduz 61.7836656German 42347.1450° N, 9.5539° E
LuxembourgLuxembourg City998531,441 French, Luxembourgish, German35249.7528° N, 6.1694° E
MonacoMonaco499 acres 37,579 French 37743.7328° N, 7.4197° E
NetherlandsAmsterdam 16,03316.77 million Dutch 3152.3167° N, 5.5500° E
SwitzerlandBern 15,9407.997 million German, French, Romansh, Italian4146.8333° N, 8.3333° E

Featured Links

Eastern European CountriesWestern European CountriesSouthern European Countries
Northern European CountriesEurope Outline MapAfrica Map
Asia MapNorth America MapSouth America Map
Oceania MapList of European capitalsUSA Map

Western European Countries

The westernmost part of Europe is called Western Europe. According to the United Nations Statistics Division, countries like Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, and Switzerland are under Western Europe. Hence, these countries are called as Western European Countries. The majority of Western European Countries are also members of the European Union and the NATO military alliance. Western Europe is home to some of the most renowned galleries, orchestras, and museums. Western Europe was the birthplace of artists such as Van Gogh and Monet, as well as musicians such as Beethoven and Chopin. Popular fashion labels including Christian Dior, Chanel, Adidas, and Bally are produced in Western European Countries.

Western Europe has a population of about 196 million people. The majority of these people nearly 80% dwell in metropolitan areas. With 98% of its citizens residing in cities, Belgium has the most urbanized population. Only 15% of the population of Liechtenstein lives in what would be considered an urban environment, making it the least urbanized nation in Western Europe. Germany is the most populous country in Western Europe. With a population of roughly 65 million, France comes in second position in terms of most populous countries in Western Europe. Liechtenstein, which has a population of about 38,000, is the least populated nation in Western Europe.

The largest cities on the continent are located in Western Europe. Paris, the capital of France, has more than 11 million residents, making it the most populated city in the sub region and the third most populous in all of Europe. With a population of 3.56 million, Berlin ranks as the second most populated city in Western Europe. Vienna, Hamburg, Lyon, Marseille, Munich, Zurich, Zurich, Amsterdam, Cologne, Lille, and Toulouse are additional significant cities in the sub region, and each has a population of one million or more.

Western European traditions and culture have contributed to the development of the modern world. The Western Europe is known for its amazing musicians, gorgeous buildings, and outstanding artists.

One of the richest parts of the planet is Western Europe. Luxembourg has the greatest GDP per capita in the world that falls in Western Europe Germany has the biggest net national wealth of any European state, the highest gross domestic output in Europe, and the largest financial surplus of any nation. The highest average salaries worldwide, in terms of nominal and PPP are found in Switzerland and Luxembourg. These two western European countries are well known countries among other nations of Western Europe. In terms of Social Progress Index, Norway is ranked first among western European countries as well as worldwide.