Alabama County Map, List of Counties in Alabama with Seats

The U.S. state of Alabama is divided into 67 counties. Explore the Alabama County Map, list of Counties in Ohio along with their County Seats in alphabetical order along with their population, areas and the date of formation.

Alabama County Map

About Alabama County

Alabama is one of the famous states of U.S.A Alabama has in fact beautiful mountains that would provide us a spectacular scenery. It indeed has got tall mountains and valleys that are deep. Alabama is surrounded four sides by different states towards north Tennessee, to the east Georgia, Florida to the south and Mississippi towards to the west. The number of Counties in Alabama is 67. It has 50645 sq mi area. Each county in Alabama provides and serves as the local administrative body within its territory. According to the census taken by U.S government in the year 2020 the average population of Alabama Counties is 74,989.

The most populous county in the state of Alabama is Jefferson with 674,721, while the least population county is Greene County. The coastline is approximately 53 miles. The major rivers of Alabama are Tennessee, Chattahoochee, Alabama and Coosa rivers. The largest lake is Guntersville. The cleanest lake in Alabama is Lewis Smith which is located in Winston. Smith lake seems to be very difficult to be believed because of its cleanliness, it is fascinating to see it. The geographic center the state is situated in Chilton County. The state is governed by three branches of government. They are Executive, legislative and judicial. The executive branch of government consists of three administrative bodies, they are Governor who is chief executive of Alabama state government, Lieutenant governor acts as the president and presiding officer of the Alabama senate, and Governor`s cabinet. The Governor administers the state from governor’s mansion which is located in Alabama.

The U.S. state of Alabama has 67 counties. Explore list of Alabama Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order and check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Counties in Alabama and County Seats

CountyCounty SeatPopulationAreaFormed
Autauga CountyPrattville55,514594 sq mi1818
Baldwin CountyBay Minette190,7901,590 sq mi1809
Barbour CountyClayton27,201885 sq mi1832
Bibb CountyCentreville22,597623 sq mi1818
Blount CountyOneonta57,826645 sq mi1818
Bullock CountyUnion Springs10,474623 sq mi1866
Butler CountyGreenville20,307777 sq mi1819
Calhoun CountyAnniston117,296606 sq mi1832
Chambers CountyLaFayette34,064597 sq mi1832
Cherokee CountyCentre26,021554 sq mi1836
Chilton CountyClanton43,819693 sq mi1868
Choctaw CountyButler13,633914 sq mi1847
Clarke CountyGrove Hill25,1611,238 sq mi1812
Clay CountyAshland13,435604 sq mi1866
Cleburne CountyHeflin14,832560 sq mi1866
Coffee CountyElba and Enterprise51,252679 sq mi1841
Colbert CountyTuscumbia54,446593 sq mi1867
Conecuh CountyEvergreen12,981850 sq mi1818
Coosa CountyRockford10,966651 sq mi1832
Covington CountyAndalusia37,9551,030 sq mi1821
Crenshaw CountyLuverne14,083609 sq mi1866
Cullman CountyCullman80,440735 sq mi1877
Dale CountyOzark50,444561 sq mi1824
Dallas CountySelma43,820979 sq mi1818
DeKalb CountyFort Payne71,109777 sq mi1836
Elmore CountyWetumpka79,303618 sq mi1866
Escambia CountyBrewton38,319945 sq mi1868
Etowah CountyGadsden104,430535 sq mi1866
Fayette CountyFayette17,241628 sq mi1824
Franklin CountyRussellville31,704634 sq mi1818
Geneva CountyGeneva26,790574 sq mi1868
Greene CountyEutaw9,045647 sq mi1819
Hale CountyGreensboro15,760644 sq mi1867
Henry CountyAbbeville17,302562 sq mi1819
Houston CountyDothan101,547580 sq mi1903
Jackson CountyScottsboro53,2271,078 sq mi1819
Jefferson CountyBirmingham658,4661,111 sq mi1819
Lamar CountyVernon14,564605 sq mi1867
Lauderdale CountyFlorence92,709668 sq mi1818
Lawrence CountyMoulton34,339691 sq mi1818
Lee CountyOpelika140,247608 sq mi1866
Limestone CountyAthens82,782560 sq mi1818
Lowndes CountyHayneville11,299716 sq mi1830
Macon CountyTuskegee21,452609 sq mi1832
Madison CountyHuntsville334,811802 sq mi1808
Marengo CountyLinden21,027977 sq mi1818
Marion CountyHamilton30,776742 sq mi1818
Marshall CountyGuntersville93,019566 sq mi1836
Mobile CountyMobile412,9921,229 sq mi1812
Monroe CountyMonroeville23,0681,026 sq mi1815
Montgomery CountyMontgomery229,363784 sq mi1816
Morgan CountyDecatur119,490579 sq mi1818
Perry CountyMarion10,591720 sq mi1819
Pickens CountyCarrollton19,746881 sq mi1820
Pike CountyTroy32,899672 sq mi1821
Randolph CountyWedowee22,913581 sq mi1832
Russell CountyPhenix City52,947641 sq mi1832
Shelby CountyColumbiana195,085785 sq mi1818
St Clair CountyAshville and Pell City83,593632 sq mi1818
Sumter CountyLivingston13,763904 sq mi1832
Talladega CountyTalladega82,291737 sq mi1832
Tallapoosa CountyDadeville41,616717 sq mi1832
Tuscaloosa CountyTuscaloosa194,6561,322 sq mi1818
Walker CountyJasper67,023791 sq mi1823
Washington CountyChatom17,5811,080 sq mi1800
Wilcox CountyCamden11,670888 sq mi1819
Winston CountyDouble Springs24,484613 sq mi1850