Missouri County Map, List of Counties in Missouri with Seats

The U.S. state of Missouri is divided into 14 counties and 1 Independent city. Explore the Missouri County Map, all Counties list along with their County Seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

Missouri County Map

Missouri County Map About Missouri County Map: The map showing the county boundary, all counties boundary, state capital and neighbouring states.

Other Missouri Maps & Info

Missouri MapWhere is MissouriMap of Missouri With Cities
Missouri Zip CodesAirports in MissouriWhere is St. Louis
Missouri Area CodesMissouri Blank MapMissouri River Map
Missouri Physical MapMissouri Road MapWhere is Kansas City

About Counties of Missouri

The U.S state of Missouri is located in Midwestern part of the country. Missouri occupies the twenty-first rank in land area to be specific the state has 68742 square miles and nineteenth rank as most populous state in United States of America. The state shares the borders with Iowa to the north, Illinois, Kentucky and Tennessee to the east, Arkansas lies to the south and Oklahoma, Kansas and Nebraska to the west. The state was named after the river ‘Missouri River’. The nick name for the state is ‘The Show Me State’. The capital city of Missouri is Jefferson City. According to the census of 2019, the population of the state is 61.4 lakhs.

Counties in Missouri State are 114 in number. The state has one independent city. The name of independent city is St. Louis City. It is one among three independent cities of United States of America. Majority of counties of the state are named after its politicians for example ‘Cass’. The biggest county by area in the state of Missouri is Texas County and tiniest county is St. Louis City. The largest county by population in the state is St. Louis County with population of 996,945. Worth County is a county which is the least populated county in the state. Of all Counties in Missouri the richest county is Platte with Per Capita Income of $ 34,037. Platte County in fact is the fast growing county in the state of Missouri.

According to the constitution of Missouri, Counties in Missouri are governed by three branches of the Government. They are executive branch, legislative branch and judiciary branch. The most important units of local government in the state are counties and cities. The counties are administered by commissioners who are elected. The cities of Missouri have been governed by the Mayors.

The U.S. state of Missouri is divided into 114 counties and 1 Independent city. This is list of Missouri Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order along with check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Counties in Missouri with County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
1Adair CountyKirksville25,607568 sq mi1841
2Andrew CountySavannah17,291435 sq mi1841
3Atchison CountyRock Port5,685545 sq mi1843
4Audrain CountyMexico25,529693 sq mi1831
5Barry CountyCassville35,597779 sq mi1835
6Barton CountyLamar12,402594 sq mi1855
7Bates CountyButler17,049848 sq mi1841
8Benton CountyWarsaw19,056706 sq mi1835
9Bollinger CountyMarble Hill12,363621 sq mi1851
10Boone CountyColumbia162,642685 sq mi1821
11Buchanan CountySaint Joseph89,201410 sq mi1838
12Butler CountyPoplar Bluff42,794698 sq mi1849
13Caldwell CountyKingston9,424429 sq mi1836
14Callaway CountyFulton44,332839 sq mi1821
15Camden CountyCamdenton44,002655 sq mi1841
16Cape Girardeau CountyJackson75,674579 sq mi1812
17Carroll CountyCarrollton9,295695 sq mi1833
18Carter CountyVan Buren6,265508 sq mi1859
19Cass CountyHarrisonville99,478699 sq mi1833
20Cedar CountyStockton13,982476 sq mi1845
21Chariton CountyKeytesville7,831756 sq mi1821
22Christian CountyOzark77,422563 sq mi1859
23Clark CountyKahoka7,139507 sq mi1836
24Clay CountyLiberty221,939396 sq mi1822
25Clinton CountyPlattsburg20,743419 sq mi1833
26Cole CountyJefferson City75,990392 sq mi1820
27Cooper CountyBoonville17,601565 sq mi1818
28Crawford CountySteelville24,696743 sq mi1829
29Dade CountyGreenfield7,883490 sq mi1841
30Dallas CountyBuffalo16,777542 sq mi1841
31Daviess CountyGallatin8,433567 sq mi1836
32DeKalb CountyMaysville12,892424 sq mi1843
33Dent CountySalem15,657754 sq mi1851
34Douglas CountyAva13,684815 sq mi1857
35Dunklin CountyKennett31,953546 sq mi1843
36Franklin CountyUnion101,492922 sq mi1818
37Gasconade CountyHermann15,222520 sq mi1821
38Gentry CountyAlbany6,738492 sq mi1841
39Greene CountySpringfield275,174675 sq mi1833
40Grundy CountyTrenton10,261436 sq mi1839
41Harrison CountyBethany8,957725 sq mi1843
42Henry CountyClinton22,272702 sq mi1834
43Hickory CountyHermitage9,627399 sq mi1845
44Holt CountyOregon4,912462 sq mi1841
45Howard CountyFayette10,144466 sq mi1816
46Howell CountyWest Plains40,400928 sq mi1857
47Iron CountyIronton10,630551 sq mi1857
48Jackson CountyKansas City,674,158605 sq mi1826
49Jasper CountyCarthage117,404640 sq mi1841
50Jefferson CountyHillsboro218,733657 sq mi1818
51Johnson CountyWarrensburg52,595831 sq mi1834
52Knox CountyEdina4,131506 sq mi1843
53Laclede CountyLebanon35,571766 sq mi1849
54Lafayette CountyLexington33,381629 sq mi1821
55Lawrence CountyMount Vernon38,634613 sq mi1843
56Lewis CountyMonticello10,211505 sq mi1833
57Lincoln CountyTroy52,566630 sq mi1818
58Linn CountyLinneus12,761620 sq mi1837
59Livingston CountyChillicothe15,195535 sq mi1837
60Macon CountyMacon15,566804 sq mi1837
61Madison CountyFredericktown12,226497 sq mi1818
62Maries CountyVienna9,176528 sq mi1855
63Marion CountyPalmyra28,781438 sq mi1826
64McDonald CountyPineville23,083540 sq mi1847
65Mercer CountyPrinceton3,785454 sq mi1845
66Miller CountyTuscumbia24,748592 sq mi1837
67Mississippi CountyCharleston14,358413 sq mi1842
68Moniteau CountyCalifornia15,607417 sq mi1845
69Monroe CountyParis8,840646 sq mi1831
70Montgomery CountyMontgomery City12,236539 sq mi1818
71Morgan CountyVersailles20,565598 sq mi1833
72New Madrid CountyNew Madrid18,956678 sq mi1812
73Newton CountyNeosho58,114626 sq mi1838
74Nodaway CountyMaryville23,370877 sq mi1843
75Oregon CountyAlton10,881792 sq mi1841
76Osage CountyLinn13,878606 sq mi1841
77Ozark CountyGainesville9,723747 sq mi1841
78Pemiscot CountyCaruthersville18,296493 sq mi1851
79Perry CountyPerryville18,971475 sq mi1821
80Pettis CountySedalia42,201685 sq mi1833
81Phelps CountyRolla45,156673 sq mi1857
82Pike CountyBowling Green18,516673 sq mi1818
83Platte CountyPlatte City89,322420 sq mi1838
84Polk CountyBolivar31,137637 sq mi1835
85Pulaski CountyWaynesville52,274547 sq mi1833
86Putnam CountyUnionville4,979518 sq mi1843
87Ralls CountyNew London10,167471 sq mi1821
88Randolph CountyHuntsville25,414482 sq mi1829
89Ray CountyRichmond23,494570 sq mi1820
90Reynolds CountyCenterville6,696811 sq mi1845
91Ripley CountyDoniphan14,100630 sq mi1831
92Saint Charles CountySaint Charles360,485561 sq mi1812
93Saint Clair CountyOsceola9,805677 sq mi1841
94Saint Francois CountyFarmington65,359450 sq mi1821
95Saint Louis CitySt. Louis319,29461.9 sq mi1876
96Saint Louis CountyClayton1,000,438508 sq mi1812
97Saline CountyMarshall23,370756 sq mi1820
98Schuyler CountyLancaster4,431308 sq mi1843
99Scotland CountyMemphis4,843438 sq mi1841
100Scott CountyBenton39,191421 sq mi1822
101Shannon CountyEminence8,4411,004 sq mi1837
102Shelby CountyShelbyville6,373501 sq mi1835
103Ste. Genevieve CountySte. Genevieve18,145502 sq mi1812
104Stoddard CountyBloomfield29,968827 sq mi1835
105Stone CountyGalena32,202463 sq mi1851
106Sullivan CountyMilan6,714651 sq mi1843
107Taney CountyForsyth51,675632 sq mi1837
108Texas CountyHouston26,0081,179 sq mi1843
109Vernon CountyNevada21,159834 sq mi1851
110Warren CountyWarrenton32,513432 sq mi1833
111Washington CountyPotosi25,195760 sq mi1813
112Wayne CountyGreenville13,521761 sq mi1818
113Webster CountyMarshfield36,202593 sq mi1855
114Worth CountyGrant City2,171266 sq mi1861
115Wright CountyHartville18,815682 sq mi1841
Edited by: Vijay Kanth | Updated: May 05, 2022