Oklahoma County Map, List of Counties in Oklahoma with Seats

The U.S. state of Oklahoma is divided into 77 Counties. Explore the Oklahoma County Map, all Counties list along with their County Seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

Oklahoma County Map

About Counties of Oklahoma

Oklahoma is one among fifty states of United States of America. The state is located in the south central part of the country. Oklahoma shares the borders with Texas in south, Kansas in north, Arkansas in east and New Mexico in west. The capital city of the state is Oklahoma City. Of all the Counties of Oklahoma, Oklahoma County has the highest population in the state with population of 796,292. Tulsa County and Cleveland County rank as second and third counties respectively as they have the highest number of population after Oklahoma County. The least populated county in the state of Oklahoma is Cimarron County. Among Counties of Oklahoma McIntosh County is considered as the oldest county in the state. The largest county by its area is Osage as it has 2,041.26 square miles. The second biggest county in terms of area is Texas.

Counties of Oklahoma are 77 in number. The state ranks seventeenth in terms of having a number of counties. U.S state of Oklahoma initially had seven counties in the beginning. They are Logan, Cleveland, Oklahoma, Canadian, Kingfisher, Payne and Beaver. These were renamed later. Oklahoma became a state in the year 1907 under the leadership of Theodore Roosevelt who was then president of the country. There are four types of local governments in the state of Oklahoma. They are Counties, Municipalities, special districts and school districts.

Counties have a major role to play in providing services to the people of the place as they are the largest units of local governance. The state Oklahoma is divided into 77 counties which are further divided into 597 incorporated municipalities which consist of cities and towns. There are two kinds of municipal governments; City government and Town government. Any geographical place in order to become a city, it must have at least the population of 1,000. The cities of Oklahoma follow a Council- Manager form of government. Counties of Oklahoma and other local governing bodies provide a lot of public services to the citizens like Public safety services like police, fire and ambulance, Environment and housing services like taking care of Sewerage, solid waste, parks and buildings and other Utilities like water, electric and public, transport and Education. Hence by providing different services to the inhabitants of the state, local government is shaping the lives of the people.

The U.S. state of Oklahoma has 77 Counties. This is list of Oklahoma Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order along with check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Counties in Oklahoma with County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
1Adair CountyStilwell22,683576 sq mi1907
2Alfalfa CountyCherokee5,642867 sq mi1907
3Atoka CountyAtoka14,182978 sq mi1907
4Beaver CountyBeaver5,6361,814 sq mi1890
5Beckham CountySayre22,119902 sq mi1907
6Blaine CountyWatonga11,943929 sq mi1890
7Bryan CountyDurant42,416909 sq mi1907
8Caddo CountyAnadarko29,6001,278 sq mi1901
9Canadian CountyEl Reno115,541900 sq mi1901
10Carter CountyArdmore47,557824 sq mi1907
11Cherokee CountyTahlequah46,987751 sq mi1907
12Choctaw CountyHugo15,205774 sq mi1907
13Cimarron CountyBoise City2,4751,835 sq mi1907
14Cleveland CountyNorman255,755536 sq mi1890
15Coal CountyCoalgate5,925518 sq mi1907
16Comanche CountyLawton124,0981,069 sq mi1907
17Cotton CountyWalters6,193637 sq mi1912
18Craig CountyVinita15,029761 sq mi1907
19Creek CountySapulpa69,967956 sq mi1907
20Custer CountyArapaho27,469987 sq mi1891
21Delaware CountyJay41,487741 sq mi1907
22Dewey CountyTaloga4,8101,000 sq mi1892
23Ellis CountyArnett4,1511,229 sq mi1907
24Garfield CountyEnid60,5801,058 sq mi1893
25Garvin CountyPauls Valley27,576809 sq mi1907
26Grady CountyChickasha52,4311,101 sq mi1907
27Grant CountyMedford4,5271,001 sq mi1892
28Greer CountyMangum6,239639 sq mi1896
29Harmon CountyHollis2,922538 sq mi1909
30Harper CountyBuffalo3,6851,039 sq mi1893
31Haskell CountyStigler12,769577 sq mi1907
32Hughes CountyHoldenville14,003807 sq mi1907
33Jackson CountyAltus26,446803 sq mi1907
34Jefferson CountyWaurika6,472759 sq mi1907
35Johnston CountyTishomingo10,957645 sq mi1907
36Kay CountyNewkirk46,562919 sq mi1895
37Kingfisher CountyKingfisher15,034903 sq mi1907
38Kiowa CountyHobart9,4461,015 sq mi1901
39Latimer CountyWilburton11,154722 sq mi1907
40Le Flore CountyPoteau50,3841,586 sq mi1907
41Lincoln CountyChandler34,273959 sq mi1891
42Logan CountyGuthrie41,848745 sq mi1891
43Love CountyMarietta9,423515 sq mi1907
44Major CountyFairview7,527957 sq mi1909
45Marshall CountyMadill15,840371 sq mi1907
46Mayes CountyPryor41,259656 sq mi1907
47McClain CountyPurcell34,506570 sq mi1907
48McCurtain CountyIdabel33,1511,852 sq mi1907
49McIntosh CountyEufaula20,252620 sq mi1907
50Murray CountySulphur13,488418 sq mi1907
51Muskogee CountyMuskogee70,990814 sq mi1907
52Noble CountyPerry11,561732 sq mi1897
53Nowata CountyNowata10,536565 sq mi1907
54Okfuskee CountyOkemah12,191625 sq mi1907
55Oklahoma CountyOklahoma City718,633709 sq mi1891
56Okmulgee CountyOkmulgee40,069697 sq mi1907
57Osage CountyPawhuska47,4722,251 sq mi1907
58Ottawa CountyMiami31,848471 sq mi1907
59Pawnee CountyPawnee16,577570 sq mi1897
60Payne CountyStillwater77,350686 sq mi1890
61Pittsburg CountyMcAlester45,8371,306 sq mi1907
62Pontotoc CountyAda37,492720 sq mi1907
63Pottawatomie CountyShawnee69,442788 sq mi1891
64Pushmataha CountyAntlers11,5721,397 sq mi1907
65Roger Mills CountyCheyenne3,6471,142 sq mi1895
66Rogers CountyClaremore86,905675 sq mi1907
67Seminole CountyWewoka25,482632 sq mi1907
68Sequoyah CountySallisaw42,391674 sq mi1907
69Stephens CountyDuncan45,048877 sq mi1907
70Texas CountyGuymon20,6402,037 sq mi1907
71Tillman CountyFrederick7,992872 sq mi1907
72Tulsa CountyTulsa603,403570 sq mi1907
73Wagoner CountyWagoner73,085563 sq mi1907
74Washington CountyBartlesville50,976417 sq mi1907
75Washita CountyCordell11,6291,004 sq mi1897
76Woods CountyAlva8,8781,287 sq mi1893
77Woodward CountyWoodward20,0811,242 sq mi1893
Edited by: Vijay Kanth | Updated On: June 13, 2022