Home >US Map >US States > Montana > Montana Counties

List of Montana Counties and County Seats

Share |
The U.S. state of Montana is divided into 56 counties. Explore list of California Counties and their County Seats in alphabetical order and check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Montana Counties and County Seat

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulation(2011)Area Formed
1Beaverhead CountyDillon9,3455,543 sq mi1864
2Big Horn CountyHardin13,2824,995 sq mi1913
3Blaine CountyChinook6,6194,226 sq mi1895
4Broadwater CountyTownsend5,6671,192 sq mi1897
5Carbon CountyRed Lodge10,3992,048 sq mi1895
6Carter CountyEkalaka1,1693,340 sq mi1917
7Cascade CountyGreat Falls82,3442,698 sq mi1887
8Chouteau CountyFort Benton5,8943,973 sq mi1865
9Custer CountyMiles City12,0923,783 sq mi1865
10Daniels CountyScobey1,7931,426 sq mi1920
11Dawson CountyGlendive9,5182,373 sq mi1865
12Deer Lodge CountyAnaconda9,150737 sq mi1864
13Fallon CountyBaker3,1081,620 sq mi1913
14Fergus CountyLewistown11,4424,339 sq mi1885
15Flathead CountyKalispell94,9245,099 sq mi1893
16Gallatin CountyBozeman97,3082,507 sq mi1864
17Garfield CountyJordan1,3094,668 sq mi1919
18Glacier CountyCut Bank13,6962,995 sq mi1919
19Golden Valley CountyRyegate8521,175 sq mi1920
20Granite CountyPhilipsburg3,2091,728 sq mi1893
21Hill CountyHavre16,5962,896 sq mi1912
22Jefferson CountyBoulder11,5581,657 sq mi1864
23Judith Basin CountyStanford1,9911,870 sq mi1920
24Lake CountyPolson29,0991,494 sq mi1923
25Lewis and Clark CountyHelena65,8563,461 sq mi1864
26Liberty CountyChester2,3591,430 sq mi1920
27Lincoln CountyLibby19,1253,613 sq mi1909
28Madison CountyVirginia City7,8203,587 sq mi1864
29McCone CountyCircle1,6942,643 sq mi1919
30Meagher CountyWhite Sulphur Springs1,8532,392 sq mi1867
31Mineral CountySuperior4,2571,220 sq mi1914
32Missoula CountyMissoula112,6842,598 sq mi1864
33Musselshell CountyRoundup4,5891,867 sq mi1911
34Park CountyLivingston15,8802,656 sq mi1887
35Petroleum CountyWinnett4851,654 sq mi1926
36Phillips CountyMalta4,1925,140 sq mi1915
37Pondera CountyConrad6,2191,625 sq mi1919
38Powder River CountyBroadus1,7833,297 sq mi1919
39Powell CountyDeer Lodge6,9092,326 sq mi1901
40Prairie CountyTerry1,1481,737 sq mi1915
41Ravalli CountyHamilton41,0302,394 sq mi1893
42Richland CountySidney11,5762,084 sq mi1914
43Roosevelt CountyWolf Point11,3322,356 sq mi1919
44Rosebud CountyForsyth9,3265,012 sq mi1901
45Sanders CountyThompson Falls11,3642,762 sq mi1905
46Sheridan CountyPlentywood3,6961,677 sq mi1913
47Silver Bow CountyButte34,680718 sq mi1881
48Stillwater CountyColumbus9,2901,795 sq mi1913
49Sweet Grass CountyBig Timber3,6651,855 sq mi1895
50Teton CountyChoteau6,0642,273 sq mi1893
51Toole CountyShelby5,1501,911 sq mi1914
52Treasure CountyHysham692979 sq mi1919
53Valley CountyGlasgow7,6404,921 sq mi1893
54Wheatland CountyHarlowton2,1021,423 sq mi1917
55Wibaux CountyWibaux1,121889 sq mi1914
56Yellowstone CountyBillings155,6342,635 sq mi1893