Minnesota County Map, List of Counties in Minnesota with Seats

The U.S. state of Minnesota is divided into 87 Counties. Explore the Minnesota County Map, all Counties list along with their County Seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

Minnesota County Map

Minnesota County Map About Minnesota County Map: The map showing the county boundary, all counties boundary, state capital and neighbouring states.

Other Minnesota Maps & Info

Minnesota MapWhere is MinnesotaMap of Minnesota With Cities
Minnesota Zip CodesAirports in MinnesotaWhere is Saint Paul
Minnesota Area CodesMinnesota Blank MapMinnesota River Map
Minnesota Physical MapMinnesota Road MapWhere is Minneapolis

About Counties of Minnesota

U.S State of Minnesota is one among the states of United States of America that is located in upper Midwestern region of the country. The state got its name as Minnesota from the Dakota language. The state is also called as North Star State, Gopher State, Land of 10,000 Lakes, and Land of Sky-Blue Waters. Minnesota is the twelfth largest state of Unites State in area which spans for about 79627 square miles that accounts for 206232 square kilometres, and ranks twenty second most populous state in the country. The state shares the borders with Canadian regions of Manitoba and Ontario in north, North Dakota and South Dakota in west, Iowa in South and Wisconsin and Lake Superior in the east. The capital of Minnesota is Saint Paul. More than half of the population of Minnesota live in the Minneapolis which is nothing but Saint Paul. Saint Paul is also known as the “Twin Cities” which is very important for political, economic and cultural centre.

Counties of Minnesota are 87 in number. St. Louis County is the largest county in area where as Ramsey County is the smallest county. Among the Counties of Minnesota, Hennepin County is the most populous county, and Traverse County is the least populated County.

The local government of Minnesota consists of Counties, Municipalities which include cities and towns and special districts. The local government of Minnesota is the public administration of counties, cities, towns, and districts. In fact the counties are the biggest bodies of local governance. Minnesota has got two basic types of cities which are subjected home-rule and Charter cities.

Counties of Minnesota are governed by an elected body of members. They are board of Commissioners and Administrative officers. These both board members serve the office for the tenure of 4 years. The local government of Counties of Minnesota is responsible for elections, law enforcement, court ,tax administration, tax assessment, planning and zoning , water management, and health and human services.

The U.S. state of Minnesota has 87 Counties. This is list of Minnesota Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order along with check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Counties in Minnesota with County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
1Aitkin CountyAitkin16,2021,819.30 sq mi1857
2Anoka CountyAnoka330,844423.61 sq mi1857
3Becker CountyDetroit Lakes32,5041,310.42 sq mi1858
4Beltrami CountyBemidji44,4422,505.27 sq mi1866
5Benton CountyFoley38,451408.28 sq mi1849
6Big Stone CountyOrtonville5,269496.95 sq mi1862
7Blue Earth CountyMankato64,013752.36 sq mi1853
8Brown CountyNew Ulm25,893610.86 sq mi1855
9Carlton CountyCarlton35,386860.33 sq mi1857
10Carver CountyChaska91,042357.04 sq mi1855
11Cass CountyWalker28,5672,017.60 sq mi1851
12Chippewa CountyMontevideo12,441582.80 sq mi1870
13Chisago CountyCenter City53,887417.63 sq mi1851
14Clay CountyMoorhead58,9991,045.24 sq mi1862
15Clearwater CountyBagley8,695994.71 sq mi1902
16Cook CountyGrand Marais5,1761,450.60 sq mi1874
17Cottonwood CountyWindom11,687639.99 sq mi1857
18Crow Wing CountyBrainerd62,500996.57 sq mi1857
19Dakota CountyHastings398,552569.58 sq mi1849
20Dodge CountyMantorville20,087439.50 sq mi1855
21Douglas CountyAlexandria36,009634.32 sq mi1858
22Faribault CountyBlue Earth14,553713.63 sq mi1855
23Fillmore CountyPreston20,866861.25 sq mi1853
24Freeborn CountyAlbert Lea31,255707.64 sq mi1855
25Goodhue CountyRed Wing46,183758.27 sq mi1853
26Grant CountyElbow Lake6,018546.41 sq mi1868
27Hennepin CountyMinneapolis1,152,425556.62 sq mi1852
28Houston CountyCaledonia19,027558.41 sq mi1854
29Hubbard CountyPark Rapids20,428922.46 sq mi1883
30Isanti CountyCambridge37,816439.07 sq mi1857
31Itasca CountyGrand Rapids45,0582,665.06 sq mi1849
32Jackson CountyJackson10,266701.69 sq mi1857
33Kanabec CountyMora16,239524.93 sq mi1858
34Kandiyohi CountyWillmar42,239796.06 sq mi1858
35Kittson CountyHallock4,5521,097.08 sq mi1879
36Koochiching CountyInternational Falls13,3113,102.36 sq mi1906
37Lac qui Parle CountyMadison7,259764.87 sq mi1871
38Lake CountyTwo Harbors10,8662,099.16 sq mi1856
39Lake of the Woods CountyBaudette4,0451,296.70 sq mi1923
40Le Sueur CountyLe Center27,703448.50 sq mi1853
41Lincoln CountyIvanhoe5,896537.03 sq mi1873
42Lyon CountyMarshall25,857714.17 sq mi1871
43Mahnomen CountyMahnomen5,413556.14 sq mi1906
44Marshall CountyWarren9,4391,772.24 sq mi1879
45Martin CountyFairmont20,840709.34 sq mi1857
46McLeod CountyGlencoe36,651491.91 sq mi1856
47Meeker CountyLitchfield23,300608.54 sq mi1856
48Mille Lacs CountyMilaca26,097574.47 sq mi1857
49Morrison CountyLittle Falls33,1981,124.50 sq mi1856
50Mower CountyAustin39,163711.50 sq mi1855
51Murray CountySlayton8,725704.43 sq mi1857
52Nicollet CountySt. Peter32,727452.29 sq mi1853
53Nobles CountyWorthington21,378715.39 sq mi1857
54Norman CountyAda6,852876.27 sq mi1881
55Olmsted CountyRochester144,248653.01 sq mi1855
56Otter Tail CountyFergus Falls57,3031,979.71 sq mi1858
57Pennington CountyThief River Falls13,930616.54 sq mi1910
58Pine CountyPine City29,7501,411.04 sq mi1856
59Pipestone CountyPipestone9,596465.89 sq mi1857
60Polk CountyCrookston31,6001,970.37 sq mi1858
61Pope CountyGlenwood10,995670.14 sq mi1862
62Ramsey CountySaint Paul508,640155.78 sq mi1849
63Red Lake CountyRed Lake Falls4,089432.43 sq mi1896
64Redwood CountyRedwood Falls16,059879.73 sq mi1862
65Renville CountyOlivia15,730982.92 sq mi1855
66Rice CountyFaribault64,142497.57 sq mi1853
67Rock CountyLuverne9,687482.61 sq mi1857
68Roseau CountyRoseau15,6291,662.51 sq mi1894
69Saint Louis CountyDuluth200,2266,225.16 sq mi1855
70Scott CountyShakopee129,928356.68 sq mi1853
71Sherburne CountyElk River88,499436.30 sq mi1856
72Sibley CountyGaylord15,226588.65 sq mi1853
73Stearns CountySt. Cloud150,6421,344.52 sq mi1855
74Steele CountyOwatonna36,576429.55 sq mi1855
75Stevens CountyMorris9,726562.06 sq mi1862
76Swift CountyBenson9,783743.53 sq mi1870
77Todd CountyLong Prairie24,895942.02 sq mi1855
78Traverse CountyWheaton3,558574.09 sq mi1862
79Wabasha CountyWabasha21,676525.01 sq mi1849
80Wadena CountyWadena13,843535.02 sq mi1858
81Waseca CountyWaseca19,136423.25 sq mi1857
82Washington CountyStillwater238,136391.70 sq mi1849
83Watonwan CountySt. James11,211434.51 sq mi1860
84Wilkin CountyBreckenridge6,576751.43 sq mi1858
85Winona CountyWinona51,461626.30 sq mi1854
86Wright CountyBuffalo124,700660.75 sq mi1855
87Yellow Medicine CountyGranite Falls10,438757.96 sq mi1871
Edited by: Vijay Kanth | Updated On: June 13, 2022