Kansas County Map, List of Counties in Kansas with Seats

The U.S. state of Kansas is divided into 105 Counties. Explore the Kansas County Map, all Counties list along with their County Seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

Kansas County Map

Kansas County Map About Kansas County Map: The map showing the county boundary, all counties boundary, state capital and neighbouring states.

More Kansas Maps & Info

Kansas MapKansas County MapKansas Cities Map
Kansas Zip CodesWhere is KansasAirports in Kansas
Kansas Area CodesKansas Blank MapKansas River Map
Kansas Physical MapKansas Road MapWhere is Where is Wichita

About Counties of Kansas

Kansas is one of the 50 states of United States of America which is located in Midwestern region of the country. The capital city of the state is ‘Topeka’. The state shares the borders with Nebraska towards north, Missouri to the east, Oklahoma to the south and Colorado to the west. The state occupies 81759 square miles, that accounts for 211,754 square kilometers. It is the 15th biggest state in terms of area and 31st most populous state in the country. The state of Kansas is divided into 105 counties and consists of 627 incorporated municipalities that comprised of cities. The biggest county of the state is Butler County which has got maximum area of land. The least populated county in the state is Greeley County.

The official nick name of Kansas is the ‘Sunflower State’. The state also is known as ‘The Jay Hawker state’ and ‘The Wheat State’. It is called as The Wheat State because the state produces more wheat than any other state in United States of America. Kansas’ most famous place to visit is Kansas Cosmos Space Center which is in Hutchinson.

The government of Kansas is established as per norms of the constitution of Kansas. The state follows Federal Government of United States. The state has got three branches of government and they are Executive branch, Legislative branch and Judicial branch. The executive branch consists of Governor, Lieutenant governor, The attorney general, secretary of state and state treasurer and so on. Legislative branch comprised of Kansas House of Representatives. Kansas` judicial branch is headed by Supreme Court of the state. County is considered as the basic administrative division of the state. Counties are again divided as cities and towns.

The U.S. state of Kansas has 105 Counties. This is list of Kansas Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order along with check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Counties in Kansas with County Seats

Click on any County for It's Map and Info
S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationAreaFormed
1Allen CountyIola13,319503 sq mi1855
2Anderson CountyGarnett7,917583 sq mi1855
3Atchison CountyAtchison16,813432 sq mi1855
4Barber CountyMedicine Lodge4,8611,134 sq mi1867
5Barton CountyGreat Bend27,557894 sq mi1867
6Bourbon CountyFort Scott14,897637 sq mi1855
7Brown CountyHiawatha9,881571 sq mi1855
8Butler CountyEl Dorado65,8271,428 sq mi1855
9Chase CountyCottonwood Falls2,757776 sq mi1859
10Chautauqua CountySedan3,571642 sq mi1875
11Cherokee CountyColumbus21,226587 sq mi1855
12Cheyenne CountySaint Francis2,6781,020 sq mi1873
13Clark CountyAshland2,181975 sq mi1885
14Clay CountyClay Center8,531644 sq mi1857
15Cloud CountyConcordia9,397716 sq mi1866
16Coffey CountyBurlington8,502630 sq mi1855
17Comanche CountyColdwater1,913788 sq mi1867
18Cowley CountyWinfield36,2881,126 sq mi1867
19Crawford CountyGirard39,361593 sq mi1867
20Decatur CountyOberlin2,871894 sq mi1873
21Dickinson CountyAbilene19,762848 sq mi1857
22Doniphan CountyTroy7,864392 sq mi1855
23Douglas CountyLawrence112,864457 sq mi1855
24Edwards CountyKinsley2,979622 sq mi1874
25Elk CountyHoward2,720648 sq mi1875
26Ellis CountyHays29,053900 sq mi1867
27Ellsworth CountyEllsworth6,494716 sq mi1867
28Finney CountyGarden City37,2001,300 sq mi1883
29Ford CountyDodge City34,7521,099 sq mi1867
30Franklin CountyOttawa25,906574 sq mi1855
31Geary CountyJunction City38,013384 sq mi1855
32Gove CountyGove City2,7291,072 sq mi1868
33Graham CountyHill City2,578898 sq mi1867
34Grant CountyUlysses7,923575 sq mi1888
35Gray CountyCimarron6,030869 sq mi1887
36Greeley CountyTribune1,298778 sq mi1873
37Greenwood CountyEureka6,4541,140 sq mi1855
38Hamilton CountySyracuse2,639996 sq mi1873
39Harper CountyAnthony5,911802 sq mi1867
40Harvey CountyNewton34,852539 sq mi1872
41Haskell CountySublette4,256577 sq mi1887
42Hodgeman CountyJetmore1,963860 sq mi1867
43Jackson CountyHolton13,449657 sq mi1855
44Jefferson CountyOskaloosa18,945536 sq mi1855
45Jewell CountyMankato3,046909 sq mi1867
46Johnson CountyOlathe559,913477 sq mi1855
47Kearny CountyLakin3,968870 sq mi1887
48Kingman CountyKingman7,863864 sq mi1872
49Kiowa CountyGreensburg2,496722 sq mi1886
50Labette CountyOswego21,284649 sq mi1867
51Lane CountyDighton1,704717 sq mi1873
52Leavenworth CountyLeavenworth77,739463 sq mi1855
53Lincoln CountyLincoln3,174719 sq mi1867
54Linn CountyMound City9,441599 sq mi1855
55Logan CountyOakley2,7841,073 sq mi1888
56Lyon CountyEmporia33,748851 sq mi1855
57Marion CountyMarion12,347943 sq mi1860
58Marshall CountyMarysville10,022903 sq mi1855
59McPherson CountyMcPherson29,356900 sq mi1867
60Meade CountyMeade4,396978 sq mi1885
61Miami CountyPaola32,612577 sq mi1855
62Mitchell CountyBeloit6,355700 sq mi1867
63Montgomery CountyIndependence34,459645 sq mi1867
64Morris CountyCouncil Grove5,854697 sq mi1855
65Morton CountyElkhart3,169730 sq mi1886
66Nemaha CountySeneca10,132719 sq mi1855
67Neosho CountyErie16,406572 sq mi1855
68Ness CountyNess City3,0681,075 sq mi1867
69Norton CountyNorton5,612878 sq mi1867
70Osage CountyLyndon16,142704 sq mi1855
71Osborne CountyOsborne3,806893 sq mi1867
72Ottawa CountyMinneapolis6,072721 sq mi1860
73Pawnee CountyLarned6,928754 sq mi1867
74Phillips CountyPhillipsburg5,519886 sq mi1867
75Pottawatomie CountyWestmoreland22,302844 sq mi1857
76Pratt CountyPratt9,728735 sq mi1867
77Rawlins CountyAtwood2,5601,070 sq mi1873
78Reno CountyHutchinson64,4381,254 sq mi1867
79Republic CountyBelleville4,858716 sq mi1868
80Rice CountyLyons9,985727 sq mi1867
81Riley CountyManhattan75,508610 sq mi1855
82Rooks CountyStockton5,223888 sq mi1867
83Rush CountyLa Crosse3,220718 sq mi1867
84Russell CountyRussell6,946885 sq mi1867
85Saline CountySalina55,988720 sq mi1860
86Scott CountyScott City4,937718 sq mi1873
87Sedgwick CountyWichita503,8891,000 sq mi1867
88Seward CountyLiberal23,547640 sq mi1873
89Shawnee CountyTopeka178,991550 sq mi1855
90Sheridan CountyHoxie2,538896 sq mi1873
91Sherman CountyGoodland6,1131,056 sq mi1873
92Smith CountySmith Center3,765896 sq mi1867
93Stafford CountySaint John4,358792 sq mi1867
94Stanton CountyJohnson City2,175680 sq mi1887
95Stevens CountyHugoton5,756728 sq mi1886
96Sumner CountyWellington23,6741,182 sq mi1867
97Thomas CountyColby7,9411,075 sq mi1873
98Trego CountyWaKeeney2,986888 sq mi1867
99Wabaunsee CountyAlma7,039798 sq mi1855
100Wallace CountySharon Springs1,517914 sq mi1868
101Washington CountyWashington5,758898 sq mi1857
102Wichita CountyLeoti2,256719 sq mi1873
103Wilson CountyFredonia9,105574 sq mi1855
104Woodson CountyYates Center3,278501 sq mi1855
105Wyandotte CountyKansas City159,129151 sq mi1859
Edited by: Vijay Kanth | Updated On: October 24, 2022