North Carolina County Map, List of Counties in North Carolina with Seats

The U.S. state of North Carolina is divided into 100 Counties. Explore the North Carolina County Map, all Counties list along with their County Seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

North Carolina County Map

About Counties of North Carolina

North Carolina is one of the fifty states of United States which is in the South-eastern part of the country. North Carolina shares borders with Virginia in north, the Atlantic Ocean in east, Georgia and South Carolina in south and Tennessee in west. North Carolina ranks as 28th biggest state by area and 9th most populous state in United States. The capital city of the state is Raleigh. One may be aware of the fact that North Carolina is a dominant in producing sweet potatoes, dry beans,, tobacco, pigs, chickens and turkeys. North Carolina is nick named as Old North State and Tar Heel State.

North Carolina Counties are 100 in number. The state has seventh highest number of counties in the entire country. North Carolina has a number of cities. The largest city of North Carolina is Charlotte. It is in fact the metropolitan city and most populated area in North Carolina. Among North Carolina Counties the biggest county by area is Robeson with 949.22 square miles. Sampson ranks as the second largest county in terms of its size which has got 944.74 square miles. Clay County is the smallest county by size. Off all the North Carolina Counties, Orange county is considered and ranks 1st in terms of having Highest Per Capita Income. It is the wealthiest county in North Carolina. County called Wake earns second highest Per Capita Income.

The local government of North Carolina consists of 100 counties, 552 cities, towns and villages and 318 special districts according a study conducted by U.S Census Bureau in the year 2017. North Carolina Counties have two types of local government. They are County government and Municipalities. Cities, towns and villages come under municipalities. The local government is created based on the constitution of North Carolina and sometimes the local governance bodies are created by direct state.

The U.S. state of North Carolina has 100 Counties. This is list of North Carolina Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order along with check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Counties in North Carolina with County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
1Alamance CountyGraham153,291435 sq mi1849
2Alexander CountyTaylorsville37,087263 sq mi1847
3Alleghany CountySparta11,052236 sq mi1859
4Anson CountyWadesboro26,143537 sq mi1750
5Ashe CountyJefferson27,143427 sq mi1799
6Avery CountyNewland17,572247 sq mi1911
7Beaufort CountyWashington47,691959 sq mi1712
8Bertie CountyWindsor20,874741 sq mi1722
9Bladen CountyElizabethtown35,190887 sq mi1734
10Brunswick CountyBolivia110,097860 sq mi1764
11Buncombe CountyAsheville241,419660 sq mi1791
12Burke CountyMorganton90,904515 sq mi1777
13Cabarrus CountyConcord181,468365 sq mi1792
14Caldwell CountyLenoir82,395474 sq mi1841
15Camden CountyCamden10,014306 sq mi1777
16Carteret CountyBeaufort67,3731,341 sq mi1722
17Caswell CountyYanceyville23,403428 sq mi1777
18Catawba CountyNewton154,181414 sq mi1842
19Chatham CountyPittsboro64,195709 sq mi1771
20Cherokee CountyMurphy27,194497 sq mi1839
21Chowan CountyEdenton14,831233 sq mi1668
22Clay CountyHayesville10,563221 sq mi1861
23Cleveland CountyShelby97,489469 sq mi1841
24Columbus CountyWhiteville57,712954 sq mi1808
25Craven CountyNew Bern104,786774 sq mi1705
26Cumberland CountyFayetteville324,885658 sq mi1754
27Currituck CountyCurrituck23,955526 sq mi1668
28Dare CountyManteo34,3071,562 sq mi1870
29Davidson CountyLexington162,695567 sq mi1822
30Davie CountyMocksville41,552267 sq mi1836
31Duplin CountyKenansville59,542819 sq mi1750
32Durham CountyDurham273,392298 sq mi1881
33Edgecombe CountyTarboro56,041507 sq mi1741
34Forsyth CountyWinston-Salem354,952413 sq mi1849
35Franklin CountyLouisburg61,140495 sq mi1779
36Gaston CountyGastonia207,031364 sq mi1846
37Gates CountyGatesville12,043346 sq mi1779
38Graham CountyRobbinsville8,802302 sq mi1872
39Granville CountyOxford59,976537 sq mi1746
40Greene CountySnow Hill21,556266 sq mi1799
41Guilford CountyGreensboro495,279658 sq mi1771
42Halifax CountyHalifax54,173731 sq mi1758
43Harnett CountyLillington119,256601 sq mi1855
44Haywood CountyWaynesville58,855555 sq mi1808
45Henderson CountyHendersonville107,927375 sq mi1838
46Hertford CountyWinton24,433360 sq mi1759
47Hoke CountyRaeford49,272392 sq mi1911
48Hyde CountySwan Quarter5,8221,424 sq mi1712
49Iredell CountyStatesville161,202597 sq mi1788
50Jackson CountySylva40,285494 sq mi1851
51Johnston CountySmithfield172,595796 sq mi1746
52Jones CountyTrenton10,020473 sq mi1778
53Lee CountySanford58,752259 sq mi1907
54Lenoir CountyKinston59,339402 sq mi1791
55Lincoln CountyLincolnton78,932307 sq mi1779
56Macon CountyFranklin34,074519 sq mi1828
57Madison CountyMarshall20,816452 sq mi1851
58Martin CountyWilliamston24,180461 sq mi1774
59McDowell CountyMarion45,104446 sq mi1842
60Mecklenburg CountyCharlotte944,373546 sq mi1762
61Mitchell CountyBakersville15,445222 sq mi1861
62Montgomery CountyTroy27,667502 sq mi1779
63Moore CountyCarthage89,352706 sq mi1784
64Nash CountyNashville96,116543 sq mi1777
65New Hanover CountyWilmington206,189328 sq mi1729
66Northampton CountyJackson21,893551 sq mi1741
67Onslow CountyJacksonville179,716909 sq mi1734
68Orange CountyHillsborough135,755401 sq mi1752
69Pamlico CountyBayboro13,197566 sq mi1872
70Pasquotank CountyElizabeth City40,696289 sq mi1668
71Pender CountyBurgaw53,399933 sq mi1875
72Perquimans CountyHertford13,487329 sq mi1668
73Person CountyRoxboro39,637404 sq mi1791
74Pitt CountyGreenville171,134655 sq mi1760
75Polk CountyColumbus20,256239 sq mi1855
76Randolph CountyAsheboro142,358790 sq mi1779
77Richmond CountyRockingham46,611480 sq mi1779
78Robeson CountyLumberton135,517951 sq mi1787
79Rockingham CountyWentworth93,329572 sq mi1785
80Rowan CountySalisbury138,019524 sq mi1753
81Rutherford CountyRutherfordton67,538566 sq mi1779
82Sampson CountyClinton63,734947 sq mi1784
83Scotland CountyLaurinburg35,861321 sq mi1899
84Stanly CountyAlbemarle60,636404 sq mi1841
85Stokes CountyDanbury47,242456 sq mi1789
86Surry CountyDobson73,714538 sq mi1771
87Swain CountyBryson City14,043541 sq mi1871
88Transylvania CountyBrevard32,820381 sq mi1861
89Tyrrell CountyColumbia4,364600 sq mi1729
90Union CountyMonroe205,463640 sq mi1842
91Vance CountyHenderson45,307270 sq mi1881
92Wake CountyRaleigh929,780857 sq mi1771
93Warren CountyWarrenton20,861444 sq mi1779
94Washington CountyPlymouth12,973424 sq mi1799
95Watauga CountyBoone51,333313 sq mi1849
96Wayne CountyGoldsboro123,697557 sq mi1779
97Wilkes CountyWilkesboro68,984760 sq mi1777
98Wilson CountyWilson81,452374 sq mi1855
99Yadkin CountyYadkinville38,279337 sq mi1850
100Yancey CountyBurnsville17,701313 sq mi1833
Edited by: Vijay Kanth | Updated On: May 23, 2024