List of State Capitals in the United States - US Map of Capitals

This is a list of Capital Cities of the 50 US States ordered alphabetically by state.

United States Map with Capitals

US States and Capitals Map Image Credit to
Map showing Capitals of 50 states of United States, and the capital city of the United States of America is Washington, D.C., formally the District of Columbia and also known as D.C.

About State Capitals in the United States

The US States and Capitals Map showing 48 contiguous states and their capitals, it also carries inset maps of two other states – Alaska and Hawaii. One of the most populated and powerful countries in the world, the United States of America is the third largest country, with a total land area of about 3,794,066 square miles (9,833,520 km2). The United States is situated between the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans, bordered by Canada to the north and Mexico to the south. The nation's capital is Washington DC.

With a population of about 331,449,281 as of 2020 census, the United States is also the third most populous country in the world. Almost 79% of the entire American population lives in urban areas. The New York City, Los Angeles, Chicago, Houston and Phoenix are the five most populated capital cities of the United States. While the United States is a diverse nation, the majority of Americans are descended from European immigrants, and African Americans are the largest minority group, followed by Asian Americans.

The United States is a federation of fifty states and one federal district, Washington, District of Colombia. Forty-eight of the fifty states make up the contiguous United States, and Alaska, while still part of the North American continent, is separated from the lower forty-eight by Canada. The fiftieth state, which entered the union most recently, is Hawaii, a chain of islands located in the Pacific Ocean.

The United States also possesses five major unincorporated overseas territories: Puerto Rico and the United States Virgin Islands in the Caribbean, American Samoa, Northern Mariana, and the Islands in the Pacific.

List Capitals in the United States

This is a list of capital cities of the United States with their state abbreviation code, nickname and U.S. states by date of admission to the Union are listed in alphabetical order. Washington D.C., has been the federal capital city of the United States since 1800.

List of Capital Cities of the 50 US States

PDF Download Capital Cities of the 50 US States

State (Abbr.)State NicknameCapitalBecame a State
Alabama (AL)Heart of DixieMontgomeryDecember 14, 1819
Alaska (AK)The Last FrontierJuneauJanuary 3, 1959
Arizona (AZ)Grand Canyon StatePhoenixFebruary 14, 1912
Arkansas (AR)The Natural StateLittle RockJune 15, 1836
California (CA)The Golden StateSacramentoSeptember 9, 1850
Colorado (CO)Centennial StateDenverAugust 1, 1876
Connecticut (CT)Constitution StateHartfordJanuary 9, 1788
Delaware (DE)The First StateDoverDecember 7, 1787
Florida (FL)Sunshine StateTallahasseeMarch 3, 1845
Georgia (GA)Peach StateAtlantaFebruary 12, 1733
Hawaii (HI)Aloha StateHonoluluAugust 21, 1959
Idaho (ID)Gem StateBoiseJuly 3, 1890
Illinois (IL)Prairie StateSpringfieldDecember 3, 1818
Indiana (IN)Hoosier StateIndianapolisDecember 11, 1816
Iowa (IA)Hawkeye StateDes MoinesDecember 28, 1846
Kansas (KS)Sunflower StateTopekaJanuary 29, 1861
Kentucky (KY)Bluegrass StateFrankfortJune 1, 1792
Louisiana (LA)Pelican StateBaton RougeApril 30, 1812
Maine (ME)Pine Tree StateAugustaMarch 15, 1820
Maryland (MD)Old Line StateAnnapolisApril 28, 1788
Massachusetts (MA)The Bay StateBostonFebruary 6, 1788
Michigan (MI)The Great Lakes StateLansingJanuary 26, 1837
Minnesota (MN)North Star StateSt. PaulMay 11, 1858
Mississippi (MS)Magnolia StateJacksonDecember 10, 1817
Missouri (MO)Show-Me StateJefferson CityAugust 10, 1821
Montana (MT)Treasure StateHelenaNovember 8, 1889
Nebraska (NE)Cornhusker StateLincolnMarch 1, 1867
Nevada (NV)Silver StateCarson CityOctober 31, 1864
New Hampshire (NH)Granite StateConcordJune 21, 1788
New Jersey (NJ)Garden StateTrentonDecember 18, 1787
New Mexico (NM)Land of EnchantmentSanta FeJanuary 6, 1912
New York (NY)The Empire StateAlbanyJuly 26, 1788
North Carolina (NC)First in Flight StateRaleighNovember 21, 1789
North Dakota (ND)Peace Garden StateBismarckNovember 2, 1889
Ohio (OH)Buckeye StateColumbusMarch 1, 1803
Oklahoma (OK)Sooner StateOklahoma CityNovember 16, 1907
Oregon (OR)Beaver StateSalemFebruary 14, 1859
Pennsylvania (PA)Keystone StateHarrisburgDecember 12, 1787
Rhode Island (RI)Ocean StateProvidenceMay 29, 1790
South Carolina (SC)Palmetto StateColumbiaJuly 20, 1904
South Dakota (SD)Mount Rushmore StatePierreNovember 2, 1889
Tennessee (TN)Volunteer StateNashvilleJune 1, 1796
Texas (TX)Lone Star StateAustinDecember 29, 1845
Utah (UT)Beehive StateSalt Lake CityJanuary 4, 1896
Vermont (VT)Green Mountain StateMontpelierMarch 4, 1791
Virginia (VA)The Old DominionRichmondJune 25, 1788
Washington (WA)Evergreen StateOlympiaNovember 11, 1889
West Virginia (WV)Mountain StateCharlestonJune 20, 1863
Wisconsin (WI)Badger StateMadisonMay 29, 1848
Wyoming (WY)Equality StateCheyenneJuly 10, 1890

World Countries and Capitals

  • Asian Countries and Capitals
  • North American Countries and Capitals
  • Europe Countries and Capitals
  • South American Countries and Capitals
  • African Countries and Capitals
  • Oceana Countries and Capitals
  • US States and Capitals
  • States and Capitals of India
  • Last Updated: October 05, 2021