South Carolina County Map, List of Counties in South Carolina with Seats

The U.S. state of South Carolina is divided into 46 Counties. Explore the South Carolina County Map, all Counties list along with their County Seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

South Carolina County Map

About Counties of South Carolina

U.S State of South Carolina is positioned in the south-eastern part of the country. South Carolina is fortieth rank in its size and geographical area. The state covered 30061 square miles that accounts for 77857 square kilometres. The estimated population of the state is 5.2 million and ranks as twenty third populous state in United States. South Carolina shares the borders with North Carolina in north, Atlantic Ocean in the southeast, Georgia in the southwest. South Carolina is one of the thirteen original states. Columbia is the capital city of the state. Columbia is located in the centre of the state. The important cities of South Caroline are Charleston, Mount Pleasant and North Charleston and many more. In fact Charleston city has the highest population with 150,227.

The political power of the state is shared with counties for the ease administration. Counties in South Carolina are 46 in number. The biggest county by area is Horry County which occupies 1,133 square miles of the state geographical arena. The smallest county in the state is McCormick County. The highest populated Counties in South Carolina are Greenville County with 525,534 inhabitants, Richland County with 416,147 and Charleston County with 408,235. They are four different types of government exists in the state of South Carolina. They are counties, cities or towns, school districts and special purpose governments. Like all most of the states of United States of America even Counties in South Carolina have similar form of the government. There is a dual purpose of the local government. The first purpose is that of administrative and providing services to the citizens. The second purpose is to help citizens of the country to fulfil the needs.

The U.S. state of South Carolina has 46 Counties. This is list of South Carolina Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order along with check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Counties in South Carolina with County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
1Abbeville CountyAbbeville25,417511 sq mi1785
2Aiken CountyAiken160,0991,080 sq mi1871
3Allendale CountyAllendale10,419413 sq mi1919
4Anderson CountyAnderson187,126757 sq mi1826
5Bamberg CountyBamberg15,987395 sq mi1897
6Barnwell CountyBarnwell22,261557 sq mi1798
7Beaufort CountyBeaufort162,233576 sq mi1769
8Berkeley CountyMoncks Corner177,8431,228 sq mi1882
9Calhoun CountySt. Matthews15,185392 sq mi1908
10Charleston CountyCharleston350,209916.09 sq mi1769
11Cherokee CountyGaffney55,342397 sq mi1897
12Chester CountyChester33,140586 sq mi1785
13Chesterfield CountyChesterfield46,734806 sq mi1798
14Clarendon CountyManning34,971696 sq mi1855
15Colleton CountyWalterboro38,8921,133 sq mi1800
16Darlington CountyDarlington68,681567 sq mi1785
17Dillon CountyDillon32,062407 sq mi1910
18Dorchester CountySt. George136,555577 sq mi1868
19Edgefield CountyEdgefield26,985507 sq mi1785
20Fairfield CountyWinnsboro23,956710 sq mi1785
21Florence CountyFlorence136,885804 sq mi1888
22Georgetown CountyGeorgetown60,158813.55 sq mi1769
23Greenville CountyGreenville451,225795 sq mi1786
24Greenwood CountyGreenwood69,661463 sq mi1897
25Hampton CountyHampton21,090563 sq mi1787
26Horry CountyConway269,2911,134 sq mi1801
27Jasper CountyRidgeland24,777700 sq mi1912
28Kershaw CountyCamden61,697740 sq mi1798
29Lancaster CountyLancaster76,652555 sq mi1798
30Laurens CountyLaurens66,537724 sq mi1785
31Lee CountyBishopville19,220411 sq mi1902
32Lexington CountyLexington262,391758 sq mi1804
33Marion CountyMarion33,062494 sq mi1800
34Marlboro CountyBennettsville28,933485 sq mi1785
35McCormick CountyMcCormick10,233394 sq mi1914
36Newberry CountyNewberry37,508647 sq mi1785
37Oconee CountyWalhalla74,273674 sq mi1868
38Orangeburg CountyOrangeburg92,5011,128 sq mi1769
39Pickens CountyPickens119,224512 sq mi1826
40Richland CountyColumbia384,504772 sq mi1799
41Saluda CountySaluda19,875462 sq mi1896
42Spartanburg CountySpartanburg284,307819 sq mi1785
43Sumter CountySumter107,456682 sq mi1798
44Union CountyUnion28,961516 sq mi1798
45Williamsburg CountyKingstree34,423937 sq mi1802
46York CountyYork226,073696 sq mi1798
Edited by: Vijay Kanth | Updated on: June 13, 2022