Colorado County Map, List of Counties in Colorado and Seats

The U.S. state of Colorado is divided into 64 Counties. Explore the Colorado County Map, list of Counties in Colorado along with their County Seats in alphabetical order along with their population, areas and the date of formation.

Colorado County Map

About Colorado County

Colorado is one of the mountains states of U.S. It is called as a mountain state because most of the area in this state is occupied by Rocky Mountains. Colorado is unique in its diverse geographical aspect as it has alpine mountains, high plains, deserts with massive sand dunes and deep canyons. Colorado shares its borders with Wyoming to the north, Kansas to the east, New Mexico to the south, Utah to the west. Colorado has 103642 square meters that would account for 268431 square kilometres in area.

The state of Colorado has 64 counties all together. Counties have been playing a major role as local governing bodies in the state as the state does not have sub-divisions. There are 271 active incorporated municipalities out of which 196 are towns while 73 are cities and 2 are consolidated city and county government.

Colorado is famous for its magnificent and beautiful landscapes, its wildlife. It is an eye feast to one who visits the place and can have a variety of sporting activities like mountain biking, horse-riding and skiing. The state is glorious in its nature as it consists of forests, mountains, hot springs and desert dunes. Among the counties of Colorado, the most populated county is Denver with 705,576 while San Juan County stands as less populated with 589. The capital city of Colorado is Denver.

Counties in Colorado are governed by three branches of the state government. They are Executive, Legislative and Judiciary. The executive branch of government headed by Governor, while legislative branch consists of General Assembly and Judicial branch comprised of Supreme court and other courts.

List of Counties in Colorado and County Seats

The U.S. state of Colorado has 64 Counties. This is list of Colorado Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order and check their population, areas and the date of formation.

CountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
Adams CountyBrighton441,6031,182.29 sq mi1902-11-15
Alamosa CountyAlamosa15,445723.21 sq mi1913-03-08
Arapahoe CountyLittleton572,003804.41 sq mi1861-11-01
Archuleta CountyPagosa Springs12,0841,354.53 sq mi1885-04-14
Baca CountySpringfield3,7882,558.48 sq mi1889-04-16
Bent CountyLas Animas6,4991,541.07 sq mi1870-02-11
Boulder CountyBoulder294,567740.48 sq mi1861-11-01
Chaffee CountySalida17,8091,014.12 sq mi1879-02-10
Cheyenne CountyCheyenne Wells1,8361,781.90 sq mi1889-03-25
City and County of BroomfieldBroomfield55,88933.57 sq mi2001-11-15
City and County of DenverDenver600,158155.66 sq mi1902-11-15
Clear Creek CountyGeorgetown9,088396.53 sq mi1861-11-01
Conejos CountyConejos8,2561,290.22 sq mi1861-11-01
Costilla CountySan Luis3,5241,229.38 sq mi1861-11-01
Crowley CountyOrdway5,823800.27 sq mi1911-05-29
Custer CountyWestcliffe4,255739.24 sq mi1877-03-09
Delta CountyDelta30,9521,149.44 sq mi1883-02-11
Dolores CountyDove Creek2,0641,076.93 sq mi1881-03-04
Douglas CountyCastle Rock285,465842.30 sq mi1861-11-01
Eagle CountyEagle52,1971,700.76 sq mi1883-02-11
El Paso CountyColorado Springs622,2632,128.60 sq mi1861-11-01
Elbert CountyKiowa23,0861,849.08 sq mi1874-02-02
Fremont CountyCaƱon City46,8241,533.09 sq mi1861-11-01
Garfield CountyGlenwood Springs56,3892,958.23 sq mi1883-02-10
Gilpin CountyCentral City5,441150.15 sq mi1861-11-01
Grand CountyHot Sulphur Springs14,8431,868.53 sq mi1874-02-02
Gunnison CountyGunnison15,3243,259.22 sq mi1877-03-09
Hinsdale CountyLake City8431,123.35 sq mi1874-02-10
Huerfano CountyWalsenburg6,7111,592.37 sq mi1861-11-01
Jackson CountyWalden1,3941,619.75 sq mi1909-05-05
Jefferson CountyGolden534,543772.85 sq mi1861-11-01
Kiowa CountyEads1,3981,785.90 sq mi1889-04-11
Kit Carson CountyBurlington8,2702,162.43 sq mi1889-04-11
La Plata CountyDurango51,3341,700.44 sq mi1874-02-10
Lake CountyLeadville7,310383.55 sq mi1861-11-01
Larimer CountyFort Collins299,6302,631.75 sq mi1861-11-01
Las Animas CountyTrinidad15,5074,773.27 sq mi1866-02-09
Lincoln CountyHugo5,4672,585.21 sq mi1889-04-11
Logan CountySterling22,7091,845.31 sq mi1887-02-25
Mesa CountyGrand Junction146,7233,345.69 sq mi1883-02-14
Mineral CountyCreede712878.16 sq mi1893-03-27
Moffat CountyCraig13,7954,755.86 sq mi1911-02-27
Montezuma CountyCortez25,5352,035.80 sq mi1889-04-16
Montrose CountyMontrose41,2762,246.43 sq mi1883-02-11
Morgan CountyFort Morgan28,1591,293.83 sq mi1889-02-19
Otero CountyLa Junta18,8311,267.66 sq mi1889-03-25
Ouray CountyOuray4,436542.30 sq mi1877-01-18
Park CountyFairplay16,2062,209.36 sq mi1861-11-01
Phillips CountyHolyoke4,442688.30 sq mi1889-03-27
Pitkin CountyAspen17,148970.37 sq mi1881-02-23
Prowers CountyLamar12,5511,645.37 sq mi1889-04-11
Pueblo CountyPueblo159,0632,396.77 sq mi1861-11-01
Rio Blanco CountyMeeker6,6663,226.24 sq mi1889-03-25
Rio Grande CountyDel Norte11,982913.10 sq mi1874-02-10
Routt CountySteamboat Springs23,5092,362.11 sq mi1877-01-29
Saguache CountySaguache6,1083,168.32 sq mi1866-12-29
San Juan CountySilverton699388.99 sq mi1876-01-31
San Miguel CountyTelluride7,3591,290.76 sq mi1883-03-02
Sedgwick CountyJulesburg2,379548.83 sq mi1889-04-09
Summit CountyBreckenridge27,994618.92 sq mi1861-11-01
Teller CountyCripple Creek23,350558.58 sq mi1899-03-23
Washington CountyAkron4,8142,522.90 sq mi1887-02-09
Weld CountyGreeley252,8254,013.84 sq mi1861-11-01
Yuma CountyWray10,0432,369.61 sq mi1889-03-15