Wyoming County Map, List of Counties in Wyoming with Seats

The U.S. state of Wyoming is divided into 23 Counties. Explore the Wyoming County Map, all Counties list along with their County Seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

Wyoming County Map

Wyoming County Map About Wyoming County Map: The map showing the county boundary, all counties boundary, state capital and neighbouring states.
  • Wyoming Map
  • Counties in Wyoming
  • Cities in Wyoming
  • Airports in Wyoming
  • Zip Codes in Wyoming
  • Where is Wyoming
  • About Counties of Wyoming

    U.S state of Wyoming is located in the western region of the country. Wyoming was admitted into the Union in the year 1890, as the forty- fourth state. It is the tenth biggest state in its size. It is the least populated state in the country. Wyoming is bordered by Montana in the northern side, South Dakota and Nebraska located towards east, Idaho is in the west, Utah to the southwest and Colorado to the south. According to the census of 2020, the population of the state is 576, 851. The capital city of the state is Cheyenne. It is the most populous city in the city. The state is nicknamed as the cowboy state.

    Wyoming Counties are 23 in number. When Wyoming was admitted in the Union it had 13 states. Ten more counties were after the statehood. Among Wyoming Counties three of counties were renamed after their creation. They are Carter County which is later named as Sweetwater County, Hanover County was renamed as Washakie County and Pease County is called now as Johnson County. The largest county of all the counties of Wyoming is Sweetwater which is in fact bigger than six states of United States. The smallest county of Wyoming Counties is Niobrara County. The Laramie County has the highest number of population with 100,512. Natrona county and Campbell County are in second and third position in the list of highly populated Wyoming Counties. The wealthiest county in the state of Wyoming is Teton with $ 42,224. Campbell County and Sublette ranked as second and third wealthiest counties of the state. The five major cities of the state are Cheyenne, Casper, Laramie, Gillette and Rock Springs.

    The local government of Wyoming consists of seven different units. They are County government, Municipalities, school districts and special districts. Wyoming Counties follow the commission form of government. The mayor council form of government is used commonly in the state. All the local government units provide a lot of services to the citizens.

    The U.S. state of Wyoming has 23 Counties. This is list of Wyoming Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order along with check their population, areas and the date of formation.

    List of Counties in Wyoming with County Seats

    CountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
    1Albany CountyLaramie37,2764,274 sq mi1868
    2Big Horn CountyBasin11,7943,137 sq mi1896
    3Campbell CountyGillette47,8744,797 sq mi1911
    4Carbon CountyRawlins15,6667,897 sq mi1868
    5Converse CountyDouglas14,0084,255 sq mi1888
    6Crook CountySundance7,1552,859 sq mi1875
    7Fremont CountyLander41,1109,183 sq mi1884
    8Goshen CountyTorrington13,6362,225 sq mi1911
    9Hot Springs CountyThermopolis4,8222,004 sq mi1911
    10Johnson CountyBuffalo8,6154,166 sq mi1875
    11Laramie CountyCheyenne94,4832,686 sq mi1867
    12Lincoln CountyKemmerer17,9614,069 sq mi1911
    13Natrona CountyCasper78,6215,340 sq mi1888
    14Niobrara CountyLusk2,4562,626 sq mi1911
    15Park CountyCody28,7026,943 sq mi1909
    16Platte CountyWheatland8,7562,085 sq mi1911
    17Sheridan CountySheridan29,5962,523 sq mi1888
    18Sublette CountyPinedale10,3684,882 sq mi1921
    19Sweetwater CountyGreen River45,26710,426 sq mi1867
    20Teton CountyJackson21,6754,008 sq mi1921
    21Uinta CountyEvanston21,0252,082 sq mi1869
    22Washakie CountyWorland8,4642,240 sq mi1911
    23Weston CountyNewcastle7,0822,398 sq mi1890
    Edited by: Vijay Kanth | Updated On: June 13, 2022