Home >US Map >US States > South Dakota > South Dakota Counties

List of South Dakota Counties and County Seats

Share |
The U.S. state of South Dakota is divided into 66 counties. Explore list of California Counties and their County Seats in alphabetical order and check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of South Dakota Counties and County Seat

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulation(2011)Area Formed
1Aurora CountyPlankinton2,710708 sq mi1881
2Beadle CountyHuron17,3981,259 sq mi1879
3Bennett CountyMartin3,4311,185 sq mi1909
4Bon Homme CountyTyndall7,070563 sq mi1862
5Brookings CountyBrookings31,965794 sq mi1862
6Brown CountyAberdeen36,5311,713 sq mi1879
7Brule CountyChamberlain5,255819 sq mi1875
8Buffalo CountyGann Valley1,912471 sq mi1873
9Butte CountyBelle Fourche10,1102,249 sq mi1883
10Campbell CountyMound City1,466736 sq mi1873
11Charles Mix CountyLake Andes9,1291,098 sq mi1862
12Clark CountyClark3,691958 sq mi1873
13Clay CountyVermillion13,864412 sq mi1862
14Codington CountyWatertown27,227688 sq mi1877
15Corson CountyMcIntosh4,0502,473 sq mi1909
16Custer CountyCuster8,2161,558 sq mi1875
17Davison CountyMitchell19,504436 sq mi1873
18Day CountyWebster5,7101,029 sq mi1879
19Deuel CountyClear Lake4,364624 sq mi1862
20Dewey CountyTimber Lake5,3012,303 sq mi1873
21Douglas CountyArmour3,002434 sq mi1873
22Edmunds CountyIpswich4,0711,146 sq mi1873
23Fall River CountyHot Springs7,0941,740 sq mi1883
24Faulk CountyFaulkton2,3641,000 sq mi1873
25Grant CountyMilbank7,356682 sq mi1873
26Gregory CountyBurke4,2711,016 sq mi1862
27Haakon CountyPhilip1,9371,813 sq mi1914
28Hamlin CountyHayti5,903511 sq mi1873
29Hand CountyMiller3,4311,437 sq mi1873
30Hanson CountyAlexandria3,331435 sq mi1873
31Harding CountyBuffalo1,2552,671 sq mi1909
32Hughes CountyPierre17,022741 sq mi1880
33Hutchinson CountyOlivet7,343813 sq mi1862
34Hyde CountyHighmore1,420861 sq mi1873
35Jackson CountyKadoka3,0311,869 sq mi1914
36Jerauld CountyWessington Springs2,070530 sq mi1883
37Jones CountyMurdo1,006971 sq mi1916
38Kingsbury CountyDe Smet5,148838 sq mi1873
39Lake CountyMadison11,200563 sq mi1873
40Lawrence CountyDeadwood24,097800 sq mi1875
41Lincoln CountyCanton44,828578 sq mi1867
42Lyman CountyKennebec3,7551,640 sq mi1873
43Marshall CountyBritton4,656839 sq mi1885
44McCook CountySalem5,618575 sq mi1873
45McPherson CountyLeola2,4591,137 sq mi1873
46Meade CountySturgis25,4343,471 sq mi1889
47Mellette CountyWhite River2,0481,307 sq mi1909
48Miner CountyHoward2,389570 sq mi1873
49Minnehaha CountySioux Falls169,468809 sq mi1862
50Moody CountyFlandreau6,486520 sq mi1873
51Oglala Lakota County 13,5862,094 sq mi1875
52Pennington CountyRapid City100,9482,776 sq mi1875
53Perkins CountyBison2,9822,872 sq mi1909
54Potter CountyGettysburg2,329866 sq mi1875
55Roberts CountySisseton10,1491,101 sq mi1883
56Sanborn CountyWoonsocket2,355569 sq mi1883
57Spink CountyRedfield6,4511,504 sq mi1873
58Stanley CountyFort Pierre2,9661,443 sq mi1873
59Sully CountyOnida1,3731,007 sq mi1873
60Todd County 9,6121,388 sq mi1909
61Tripp CountyWinner5,6441,614 sq mi1873
62Turner CountyParker8,347617 sq mi1871
63Union CountyElk Point14,399460 sq mi1862
64Walworth CountySelby5,438708 sq mi1873
65Yankton CountyYankton22,438522 sq mi1862
66Ziebach CountyDupree2,8011,962 sq mi1911