Maryland County Map, List of Counties in Maryland with Seats

The U.S. state of Maryland is divided into 24 Counties. Explore the Maryland County Map, all Counties list along with their County Seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

Maryland County Map

Maryland County Map About Maryland County Map: The map showing the county boundary, all counties boundary, state capital and neighbouring states.

More Maryland Maps & Info

Maryland MapMaryland County MapMap of Maryland With Cities
Maryland Zip CodesAirports in MarylandWhere is Maryland
Maryland Area CodesMaryland Blank MapMaryland River Map
Maryland Physical MapMaryland Road MapWhere is Baltimore

About Counties of Maryland

Maryland is one of the states of US which is situated mid-Atlantic region of the country. The state is bordered with four states in different directions Pennsylvania to the north, Delaware to the east Virginia to the south, West Virginia to the west. Maryland is spread over 9707 square miles which would account for 25142 square kilometres. The capital city of Maryland is Annapolis. The state is blessed with nick name as ‘the old Line State and the Free State ’. The state in fact the home to the Chesapeake Bay, Maryland is famous for its blue crabs. Maryland has a very popular historic trading port at Baltimore. The state is called also as America in Miniature. Maryland Counties are twenty three in number and it has one Independent City. Maryland`s the largest County is Frederick and second biggest county is Garrett. The smallest county in Maryland is Calvert County. Montgomery County is the most populous county in the state. The least populous County is Kent in the state of Maryland. Maryland consists of 157 cities, towns and villages in the state. There are 154 Municipalities which are in Maryland Counties. Among all the cities of the state Baltimore is considered as independent city by state`s Constitution of Maryland now it is in fact the largest city in the state.

The state Maryland and its Counties are abide by the constitution of the state. The political power of Maryland is divided among the three branches of the Government. They are executive, legislative and judicial. The executive branch consists of the Governor, his cabinet and a number of departments.

The legislative branch of the government consists of The Maryland General Assembly which is composed of House of Delegates and Senate. The Judicial branch of the government consists of Supreme Court and all other courts. Maryland Counties are notable for having small number of local governments. There are 3 forms of county government in the state. They are Commissioner Counties, Charter Counties and Code Home Rule Counties.

The U.S. state of Maryland has 24 Counties. This is list of Maryland Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order along with check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Counties in Maryland with County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
1Allegany CountyCumberland74,012430 sq mi1789
2Anne Arundel CountyAnnapolis550,488588 sq mi1650
3Baltimore CityBaltimore City621,34292 sq mi1851
4Baltimore CountyTowson817,455682 sq mi1659
5Calvert CountyPrince Frederick89,628345 sq mi1654
6Caroline CountyDenton32,718326 sq mi1773
7Carroll CountyWestminster167,217452 sq mi1837
8Cecil CountyElkton101,696418 sq mi1672
9Charles CountyLa Plata150,592643 sq mi1658
10Dorchester CountyCambridge32,551540 sq mi1668
11Frederick CountyFrederick239,582667 sq mi1748
12Garrett CountyOakland29,854656 sq mi1872
13Harford CountyBel Air248,622527 sq mi1773
14Howard CountyEllicott City299,430254 sq mi1851
15Kent CountyChestertown20,191414 sq mi1642
16Montgomery CountyRockville1,004,709507 sq mi1776
17Prince George's CountyUpper Marlboro881,138498 sq mi1696
18Queen Anne's CountyCentreville48,595510 sq mi1706
19Saint Mary's CountyLeonardtown108,987611 sq mi1637
20Somerset CountyPrincess Anne26,253611 sq mi1666
21Talbot CountyEaston38,098477 sq mi1662
22Washington CountyHagerstown149,180468 sq mi1776
23Wicomico CountySalisbury100,647400 sq mi1867
24Worcester CountySnow Hill51,578695 sq mi1742
Edited by: Vijay Kanth | Updated On: June 13, 2022