Maine County Map, List of Counties in Maine with Seats

The U.S. state of Maine is divided into 16 Counties. Explore the Maine County Map, all Counties list along with their County Seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

Maine County Map

Maine County Map About Maine County Map: The map showing the county boundary, all counties boundary, state capital and neighbouring states.

More Maine Maps & Info

Maine MapMaine County MapMap of Maine With Cities
Maine Zip CodesAirports in MaineWhere is Maine
Maine Area CodesMaine Blank MapMaine River Map
US County MapMaine Physical MapMaine Road Map

About Counties of Maine

Maine is one of the states of the United States of America. It lies in the north-eastern part of the country. The state is a part of New England. The state shares the borders with New Hampshire to the west, the Atlantic Ocean lies in the southeast region of the state, the Canadian territories of New- Brunswick and Quebec to the north east and northwest. The state occupies 30843 square miles in an arena which accounts for 79883 square kilometres.Maine is known as ‘Pine Tree State’. It is the twelfth smallest state by area.  According to the census of 2019 the population of Maine is 13.4 lakhs. The most populated city in the state is Portland. The capital of Maine is Augusta.


Like all other states of the United States, Maine too has three branches of government. They are Executive branch, Legislative branch and Judiciary. For further convenience of administration the state was divided into ‘Counties’. The counties of Maine are 16 in number. The local government of the state depends on these counties. Counties are governed by commissioners and administrative assistants. Among all the counties, Aroostook is the largest county by area, Sagadahoc is the smallest one. There are about 500 municipalities in Maine State. The largest and most populated city is Portland in the state of Maine which is in Cumberland County. The smallest city in Maine is Beddington which is in Washington County. The richest town in the state is Saco whereas Presque Isle is the poorest city.


The U.S. state of Maine has 16 Counties. This is list of Maine Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order along with check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Counties in Maine with County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulation(2011)Area Formed
1Androscoggin CountyAuburn107,233497 mi²1854
2Aroostook CountyHoulton68,6286,829 sq mi1839
3Cumberland CountyPortland289,9771,217 sq mi1761
4Franklin CountyFarmington29,9911,744 sq mi1838
5Hancock CountyEllsworth54,6592,351 sq mi1790
6Kennebec CountyAugusta119,980951 sq mi1799
7Knox CountyRockland39,8551,142 sq mi1860
8Lincoln CountyWiscasset33,969700 sq mi1760
9Oxford CountyParis57,2022,175 sq mi1805
10Penobscot CountyBangor152,6923,556 sq mi1816
11Piscataquis CountyDover-Foxcroft16,9314,377 sq mi1838
12Sagadahoc CountyBath35,149370 sq mi1854
13Somerset CountySkowhegan51,1134,095 sq mi1809
14Waldo CountyBelfast39,155853 sq mi1827
15Washington CountyMachias31,6253,255 sq mi1790
16York CountyAlfred201,1691,271 sq mi1652
Edited by: Vijay Kanth | Updated On: June 13, 2022