Michigan County Map, List of Counties in Michigan with Seats

The U.S. state of Michigan is divided into 83 Counties. Explore the Michigan County Map, all Counties list along with their County Seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

Michigan County Map

Michigan County Map About Michigan County Map: The map showing the county boundary, all counties boundary, state capital and neighbouring states.

Other Michigan Maps & Info

Michigan MapMichigan County MapMap of Michigan With Cities
Michigan Zip CodesAirports in MichiganWhere is Michigan
Michigan Area CodesMichigan Blank MapMichigan River Map
Michigan Physical MapMichigan Road MapWhere is Detroit

About Counties of Michigan

Michigan is a state of United States of America, which is situated in Midwestern part of the country. Michigan is the Eleventh largest state by area and Tenth largest state in terms of population. The capital of Michigan is Lansing. Michigan is unique in its nature that it has two peninsulas. They are Lower Peninsula and Upper Peninsula. The Lower Peninsula merely looks like a mitten. The Upper Peninsula is segregated from the Lower Peninsula by the streams water which is known as Straits of Mackinac. Michigan shares the borders with Canadian region of Ontario, the U.S states of Ohio, Indiana and Wisconsin. The state of Michigan has 56539 Square miles which is about 146435 square kilometres.

Michigan Counties are 83 in numbers. Among these Michigan Counties nine counties were given names by ethnologist, another set of four counties were named for Irish locales and ten more counties were named after cabinet members who worked in the term of Andrew Jackson`s presidential administration. These ten counties are also called as ‘Cabinet Counties’.

Out of eighty- three Michigan Counties, Marquette County is the largest county by area. Chippewa stands as second largest county in the state in arena. Wayne County is the most populous county as it ranks first out of all Michigan Counties. Oakland County is the second largest county in terms of population. The less density of population lies in Keweenaw County.

The local government of Michigan State consists of 83 counties, 1,773 cities, towns and villages and 436 special districts according a study carried out by U.S Census Bureau. There are four main types of local government exists in the state. They are Counties, Municipalities which include cities and towns, Special districts and School districts. Municipality is one of the units of local government and it is also a political subdivision of state to provide general local government for the population who residing in the area. The head of the local government in Michigan Counties is called Mayor who is the head of municipal government.

The U.S. state of Michigan has 83 Counties. This is list of Michigan Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order along with check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Counties in Michigan with County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
1Alcona CountyHarrisville109421,791 sq mi 1840
2Alger CountyMunising96015,049 sq mi1885
3Allegan CountyAllegan1114081,833 sq mi 1831
4Alpena CountyAlpena295981,695 sq mi 1840
5Antrim CountyBellaire23598602 sq mi1840
6Arenac CountyStandish15899681 sq mi1831
7Baraga CountyL'Anse88601,069 sq mi1875
8Barry CountyHastings59173577 sq mi1829
9Bay CountyBay City107771631 sq mi1857
10Benzie CountyBeulah17525860 sq mi1863
11Berrien CountySt. Joseph1568131,581 sq mi1829
12Branch CountyColdwater45248519 sq mi1829
13Calhoun CountyMarshall136146718 sq mi1829
14Cass CountyCassopolis52293508 sq mi1829
15Charlevoix CountyCharlevoix259491,391 sq mi1869
16Cheboygan CountyCheboygan26152885 sq mi1840
17Chippewa CountySault Ste. Marie385202,698 sq mi1827
18Clare CountyHarrison30926575 sq mi1840
19Clinton CountySt. Johns75382575 sq mi1831
20Crawford CountyGrayling14074563 sq mi1840
21Delta CountyEscanaba370691,992 sq mi1843
22Dickinson CountyIron Mountain26168777 sq mi1891
23Eaton CountyCharlotte107759579 sq mi1829
24Emmet CountyPetoskey32694882 sq mi1840
25Genesee CountyFlint425790649 sq mi1835
26Gladwin CountyGladwin25692516 sq mi1831
27Gogebic CountyBessemer164271,476 sq mi1887
28Grand Traverse CountyTraverse City86986601 sq mi1851
29Gratiot CountyIthaca42476572 sq mi1831
30Hillsdale CountyHillsdale46688607 sq mi1829
31Houghton CountyHoughton366281,502 sq mi1845
32Huron CountyBad Axe331182,136 sq mi1840
33Ingham CountyMason280895561 sq mi 1829
34Ionia CountyIonia63905580 sq mi1831
35Iosco CountyTawas City258871,891 sq mi1840
36Iron CountyCrystal Falls118171,211 sq mi1885
37Isabella CountyMt. Pleasant70311578 sq mi1831
38Jackson CountyJackson160248724 sq mi 1829
39Kalamazoo CountyKalamazoo250331580 sq mi1829
40Kalkaska CountyKalkaska17153571 sq mi1840
41Kent CountyGrand Rapids602622872 sq mi1831
42Keweenaw CountyEagle River21565,966 sq mi1861
43Lake CountyBaldwin11539575 sq mi1840
44Lapeer CountyLapeer88319663 sq mi1822
45Leelanau CountySuttons Bay Township217082,532 sq mi1840
46Lenawee CountyAdrian99892761 sq mi1822
47Livingston CountyHowell1820584672 sq mi1833
48Luce CountyNewberry66311,912 sq mi1887
49Mackinac CountySt. Ignace111132,101 sq mi1818
50Macomb CountyMt. Clemens840978570 sq mi1818
51Manistee CountyManistee247331,281 sq mi1840
52Marquette CountyMarquette670773,425 sq mi1843
53Mason CountyLudington287051,242 sq mi1840
54Mecosta CountyBig Rapids42798571 sq mi1840
55Menominee CountyMenominee240291,338 sq mi1861
56Midland CountyMidland83629528 sq mi1831
57Missaukee CountyLake City14849574 sq mi1840
58Monroe CountyMonroe152021680 sq mi1817
59Montcalm CountyStanton63342721 sq mi1831
60Montmorency CountyAtlanta9765562 sq mi1840
61Muskegon CountyMuskegon1721881,459 sq mi1859
62Newaygo CountyWhite Cloud48460861 sq mi1840
63Oakland CountyPontiac1202362908 sq mi 1819
64Oceana CountyHart265701,307 sq mi1831
65Ogemaw CountyWest Branch21699575 sq mi1840
66Ontonagon CountyOntonagon67803,741 sq mi1843
67Osceola CountyReed City23528573 sq mi1840
68Oscoda CountyMio8640572 sq mi1840
69Otsego CountyGaylord24164526 sq mi1840
70Ottawa CountyGrand Haven2638011,632 sq mi1831
71Presque Isle CountyRogers City133762,573 sq mi1840
72Roscommon CountyRoscommon24449580 sq mi1840
73Saginaw CountySaginaw200169816 sq mi1822
74Sanilac CountySandusky431141,590 sq mi1822
75Schoolcraft CountyManistique84851,884 sq mi1843
76Shiawassee CountyCorunna70648541 sq mi1822
77St. Clair CountyPort Huron163040837 sq mi1820
78St. Joseph CountyCentreville61295521 sq mi1829
79Tuscola CountyCaro55729914 sq mi1840
80Van Buren CountyPaw Paw762581,090 sq mi1829
81Washtenaw CountyAnn Arbor344791723 sq mi 1822
82Wayne CountyDetroit1820584672 sq mi 1815
83Wexford CountyCadillac32735576 sq mi1840
Edited by: Vijay Kanth | Updated On: June 13, 2022