Mississippi County Map, List of Counties in Mississippi with Seats

The U.S. state of Mississippi is divided into 82 Counties. Explore the Mississippi County Map, all Counties list along with their County Seats in alphabetical order and their population, areas and the date of formation.

Mississippi County Map

About Counties of Mississippi

Mississippi is one of the states of United States of America, which is located in the South-eastern region of the country. The capital of Mississippi is Jackson which in fact the largest city in the state. Mississippi is the thirty second largest state in terms of area, and ranks as thirty fourth state regarding population. The total area that Mississippi occupies in the country is 46923 square miles which accounts for 121,531 square kilometres. Mississippi shares the borders with Tennessee to the north, Alabama to the east, the Gulf of Mexico to the south and Mississippi river.

Mississippi counties are 82 in number. The most populous county in the state is Hinds County with the population of 227,742. The least populous county in Mississippi is Issaquena County. Among Mississippi counties Yazoo is the biggest county by area. The smallest county in the state of Mississippi is Alcorn. The richest county in the state of Mississippi is Madison and Holmes County is the poorest county. In the state of Mississippi there are 433 towns and cities. The biggest cities of Mississippi are Jackson, Gulfport, Southaven, Hattiesburg, Biloxi, Meridian and many more.

According to the constitution of Mississippi, the state government and for all Mississippi counties have three branches of government. They are executive, legislative and judicial. The local government Mississippi provides a lot of services to the people of Mississippi counties. Some of them are construction and maintenance of roads in counties, law enforcement, courts, and public utilities like water, sewer, and public health services like setting up clinics, industrial development and many more.

The U.S. state of Mississippi has 82 Counties. This is list of Mississippi Counties and County Seats in alphabetical order along with check their population, areas and the date of formation.

List of Counties in Mississippi with County Seats

S.NCountyCounty SeatPopulationArea Formed
1Adams CountyNatchez32,297460 sq mi1799
2Alcorn CountyCorinth37,057400 sq mi1870
3Amite CountyLiberty13,131730 sq mi1809
4Attala CountyKosciusko19,564735 sq mi1833
5Benton CountyAshland8,729407 sq mi1870
6Bolivar CountyCleveland and Rosedale34,145876 sq mi1836
7Calhoun CountyPittsboro14,962587 sq mi1852
8Carroll CountyCarrollton and Vaiden10,597628 sq mi1833
9Chickasaw CountyHouston and Okolona17,392502 sq mi1836
10Choctaw CountyAckerman8,547419 sq mi1833
11Claiborne CountyPort Gibson9,604487 sq mi1802
12Clarke CountyQuitman16,732691 sq mi1833
13Clay CountyWest Point20,634409 sq mi1871
14Coahoma CountyClarksdale26,151554 sq mi1836
15Copiah CountyHazlehurst29,449777 sq mi1823
16Covington CountyCollins19,568414 sq mi1819
17DeSoto CountyHernando161,252478 sq mi1836
18Forrest CountyHattiesburg74,934467 sq mi1906
19Franklin CountyMeadville8,118565 sq mi1809
20George CountyLucedale22,578478 sq mi1910
21Greene CountyLeakesville14,400713 sq mi1811
22Grenada CountyGrenada21,906422 sq mi1870
23Hancock CountyBay Saint Louis43,929477 sq mi1812
24Harrison CountyGulfport and Biloxi187,105581 sq mi1841
25Hinds CountyJackson and Raymond245,285869 sq mi1821
26Holmes CountyLexington19,198756 sq mi1833
27Humphreys CountyBelzoni9,375418 sq mi1918
28Issaquena CountyMayersville1,406413 sq mi1844
29Itawamba CountyFulton23,401532 sq mi1836
30Jackson CountyPascagoula139,668727 sq mi1812
31Jasper CountyBay Springs and Paulding17,062676 sq mi1833
32Jefferson CountyFayette7,726519 sq mi1799
33Jefferson Davis CountyPrentiss12,487408 sq mi1906
34Jones CountyLaurel and Ellisville67,761694 sq mi1826
35Kemper CountyDe Kalb10,456766 sq mi1833
36Lafayette CountyOxford47,351631 sq mi1836
37Lamar CountyPurvis55,658497 sq mi1904
38Lauderdale CountyMeridian80,261704 sq mi1833
39Lawrence CountyMonticello12,929431 sq mi1814
40Leake CountyCarthage23,805583 sq mi1833
41Lee CountyTupelo82,910450 sq mi1866
42Leflore CountyGreenwood32,317592 sq mi1871
43Lincoln CountyBrookhaven34,869586 sq mi1870
44Lowndes CountyColumbus59,779502 sq mi1830
45Madison CountyCanton95,203719 sq mi1828
46Marion CountyColumbia27,088542 sq mi1811
47Marshall CountyHolly Springs37,144706 sq mi1836
48Monroe CountyAberdeen36,989764 sq mi1821
49Montgomery CountyWinona10,925407 sq mi1871
50Neshoba CountyPhiladelphia29,676570 sq mi1833
51Newton CountyDecatur21,720578 sq mi1836
52Noxubee CountyMacon11,545695 sq mi1833
53Oktibbeha CountyStarkville47,671458 sq mi1833
54Panola CountyBatesville and Sardis34,707684 sq mi1836
55Pearl River CountyPoplarville55,834812 sq mi1890
56Perry CountyNew Augusta12,250647 sq mi1820
57Pike CountyMagnolia40,404409 sq mi1815
58Pontotoc CountyPontotoc29,957497 sq mi1836
59Prentiss CountyBooneville25,276415 sq mi1870
60Quitman CountyMarks8,223405 sq mi1877
61Rankin CountyBrandon141,617775 sq mi1828
62Scott CountyForest28,264609 sq mi1833
63Sharkey CountyRolling Fork4,916428 sq mi1876
64Simpson CountyMendenhall27,503589 sq mi1824
65Smith CountyRaleigh16,491636 sq mi1833
66Stone CountyWiggins17,786445 sq mi1916
67Sunflower CountyIndianola29,450694 sq mi1844
68Tallahatchie CountyCharleston and Sumner15,378644 sq mi1833
69Tate CountySenatobia28,886404 sq mi1873
70Tippah CountyRipley22,232458 sq mi1836
71Tishomingo CountyIuka19,593424 sq mi1836
72Tunica CountyTunica10,778455 sq mi1836
73Union CountyNew Albany27,134416 sq mi1870
74Walthall CountyTylertown15,443404 sq mi1912
75Warren CountyVicksburg48,773587 sq mi1809
76Washington CountyGreenville51,137724 sq mi1827
77Wayne CountyWaynesboro20,747810 sq mi1809
78Webster CountyWalthall10,253423 sq mi1874
79Wilkinson CountyWoodville9,878677 sq mi1802
80Winston CountyLouisville19,198607 sq mi1833
81Yalobusha CountyWater Valley and Coffeeville12,678467 sq mi1833
82Yazoo CountyYazoo City28,065920 sq mi1823
Edited by: Vijay Kanth | Updated: June 13, 2022