FIH Hockey World Cup Winners List (1971 to 2018)

Hockey World Cup Winners List - FIH Hockey World Cup Finals Winners history from 1971 to 2018. The full list of World Cup Winners is listed below. Pakistan is the most successful team having won the four times title followed by Netherlands and Australia have won three titles each.

Hockey World Cup Winner List:

Hockey World Cup Winner List: The International Hockey Federation hosts an international field hockey competition called the Men's FIH Hockey World Cup (FIH). In 1971, the competition first began. To bridge the gap of four years between the Summer Olympics, it is hosted every four years. Pakistan has won the competition four times, making them the most successful team. Germany has won two titles, while the Netherlands and Australia have each won three. The competition has been won once each by Belgium and India.

The Hockey World Cup 2018 took place in Bhubaneswar, India, from November 28 to December 16. After the game ended in a 0-0 draw, Belgium defeated Netherlands 3-2 on penalties to claim their first World Cup championship. The World Cup was expanded to 16 teams in 2018, and the FIH has considered the same 16 teams for Hockey World Cup 2022.

The first Hockey World Cup Winner was the Pakistani team, which won in the year 1971. The second Hockey World Cup was held in the year 1973, Netherlands` team joined in the Hockey World Cup Winner List. The following Hockey World Cup took place in Malaysia in the year 1975 and India won the final match and joined the Hockey World Cup Winner List. Australia won twice consecutively in 2010 and 2014. Belgium joined the Hockey World Cup Winner List after defeating Netherlands in the last tournament.

Hockey World Cup Trophy:

Bashir Moojid designed the Hockey World Cup trophy, which was made by the Pakistani Army. Mr. H.E. Masood, the Pakistani Ambassador to Belgium, officially presented the trophy to FIH President Rene Frank on March 27, 1971 in Brussels. The trophy is made of a silver cup with an intricate floral design, a silver and gold globe of the world, and an ivory inlaid high blade base. A replica hockey stick and ball are at the top.

2023 Men's FIH Hockey World Cup: Winner List

The International Hockey Federation will host the 15th Men's FIH Hockey World Cup in 2023, which will serve as the quadrennial global championship for men's national field hockey teams. From January 13 to January 29, 2023, it will take place in the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar and the 20,000-seat Birsa Munda International Hockey Stadium in Rourkela, India.

The table below indicates the Hockey World Cup Winners till the last edition of tournament

FIH Hockey World Cup Winners List (1971 to 2023)

Here is the list of all the winners of FIH Hockey World Cup from 1971 to 2023.

YearHostWinnerScoreRunner-upThird placeFourth placeNumber of teams
2026Wavre, Belgium & Amstelveen, Netherlands--   16
2023Bhubaneswar & Rourkela, India--   16
2018Bhubaneswar, IndiaBelgium0-0 | penalty (3-2)NetherlandsAustraliaEngland16
2014The Hague, NetherlandsAustralia6-1NetherlandsArgentinaEngland12
2010New Delhi, IndiaAustralia2-1GermanyNetherlandsEngland12
2006Mönchengladbach, GermanyGermany4-3AustraliaSpainSouth Korea12
2002Kuala Lumpur, MalaysiaGermany2-1AustraliaNetherlandsSouth Korea16
1998Utrecht, NetherlandsNetherlands3-2 extra timeSpainGermanyAustralia12
1994Sydney, AustraliaPakistan1-1 | penalty (4-3)NetherlandsAustraliaGermany12
1990Lahore, PakistanNetherlands3-1PakistanAustraliaWest Germany12
1986London, EnglandAustralia2-1EnglandWest GermanySoviet Union12
1982Bombay, IndiaPakistan3-1West GermanyAustraliaNetherlands12
1978Buenos Aires, ArgentinaPakistan3-2NetherlandsAustraliaWest Germany14
1975Kuala Lumpur, MalaysiaIndia2-1PakistanWest GermanyMalaysia12
1973Amstelveen, NetherlandsNetherlands2-2 | penalty(4-2)IndiaWest GermanyPakistan12
1971Barcelona, SpainPakistan1-0SpainIndiaKenya10

Most FIH Hockey World Cup Winners 1971-2018

TeamWinnerChampionsRunners-upThird placeFourth place
Pakistan41971, 1978, 1982, 19942 (1975, 1990*) 1 (1973)
Netherlands31973*, 1990, 1998*4 (1978, 1994, 2014*, 2018)2 (2002, 2010)1 (1982)
Australia31986, 2010, 20142 (2002, 2006)5 (1978, 1982, 1990, 1994*, 2018)1 (1998)
Germany^22002, 20062 (1982, 2010)4 (1973, 1975, 1986, 1998)3 (1978, 1990, 1994)
India119751 (1973)1 (1971) 
Spain  2 (1971*, 1998)1 (2006) 
England  1 (1986*) 3 (2010, 2014, 2018)
Argentina   1 (2014) 
South Korea    2 (2002, 2006)
Kenya    1 (1971)
Malaysia    1 (1975*)
Soviet Union#    1 (1986)