Where is Papua New Guinea?

Papua New Guinea is an island country, located in the south-western Pacific in the Oceania Continent. It's lies in the eastern half of New Guinea and numerous smaller islands. Its neighbours include Australia to the south, Indonesia to the west and Solomon Islands to the south-east.

Location Map of Papua New Guinea

Where is Papua New Guinea
About Map: Map showing location of Papua New Guinea in the Oceania Continent.

Where is Papua New Guinea Located?

Papua New Guinea is an island country in Oceania, located partially on the island of New Guinea, and several other islands in the southwestern Pacific Ocean.

Papua New Guinea map also shows that New Guinea is an island, which is divided into two parts - the western part is an Indonesian province and hence counted in south-eastern region of Asia; the eastern part is Papua New Guinea, an independent country of Oceania continent. Likewise, it shares its international boundary with Indonesia in the west side. However, it shares maritime boundary with Australia. The Torres Strait separates it from Australia. Papua New Guinea gained its independence from Australia in the year 1975. However, it remains a realm of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II, Queen of Papua New Guinea. The capital city of the country is Port Moresby.

Places to see in Papua New Guinea:

Kokoda TrackMount WilhelmKimbe BayTavurvur
Port Moresby Nature ParkMount GiluweSamarai IslandDoini Island
Duke of York IslandsUlawunMassim MuseumAdventure Park PNG
Conflict GroupSirinumu DamLoloata IslandLake Kutubu
Papua New Guinea National Museum Panasesa IslandPanasia IslandRabaul caldera
Lae War CemeterySiarHuon PeninsulaNiugini Dive Adventures

Facts about Papua New Guinea:

Official NameIndependent State of Papua New Guinea
LocationThe south-west Pacific Ocean, Oceania (Melanesia)
Papua New Guinea Coordinates6.3150° S, 143.9555° E
Papua New Guinea Capital CityPort Moresby
Official LanguagesEnglish, Tok Pisin, & Motu
GovernmentUnitary parliamentary republic
Papua New Guinea LegislatureParliament
Independence from France and the United Kingdom30 July 1980
Admitted to the United Nations15 September 1981
Area of Papua New Guinea462,840 km2 (178,700 sq mi) (54th)
Papua New Guinea Population (2020)8,935,000 (98th)
Ethnic GroupsMelanesian, Papuan, Negrito, Micronesian, Polynesian
ReligionChristians 66%, Indigenous Beliefs 34%
Papua New Guinea CurrencyPapua New Guinean kina (PGK)
Papua New Guinea Time ZoneUTC+10, +11 (AEST)
Papua New Guinea ISO CodePG
Papua New Guinea Calling Code675
Papua New Guinea Internet TLD.pg