Where is Tonga?

Tonga, officially named the Kingdom of Tonga, is a Polynesian sovereign state, located in Oceania, Tonga is a small archipelago in the South Pacific Ocean, It's lies in south of Samoa and about two-thirds of the way from Hawaii to New Zealand. It is about 1,800 kilometres (1,100 mi) from New Zealand's North Island.

Location Map of Tonga

Where is Tonga
About Map: Map showing location of Tonga in the Oceania Continent.

Where is Tonga Located?

Tonga is located in the South Pacific Ocean.

Tonga map also shows that Tonga is an archipelago constituted of more than 170 islands. These islands are spread in the area of about 700,000 sq km. Many of the islands are uninhabited. The climate type of Tonga is tropical. The government type of the Tonga is a constitutional monarchy, under which the King has all executive power and even the Prime Minister of country is appointed by the King.

Moreover, the economy of the country is largely depends upon remittances because half of the country's population lives abroad and hence send money to their relatives. However, country has small manufacturing sector and subsistence agriculture. The major crops are Coconuts, bananas, coffee beans, vanilla beans, and root crops including taro, yams, and cassava.

Places to see in Tonga:

Fafa IslandPangaimotu IslandHa'amonga 'a Maui TrilithonHunga Tonga
Anahulu CaveUolevaHa'atafu BeachAtata Island
Ene'io Botanical GardenHa`apai GroupMt Talau National ParkLuahoko
NomukaMapu 'A Vaea BlowholesMounuOholei Beach
Royal TombsHungaFofoaEueiki
KaoBasilica of Saint Anthony of PaduaEne'io BeachPangaimotu Island Resort

Facts about Tonga

Official NameKingdom of Tonga
Location of Tongathe South Pacific Ocean
Tonga Coordinates21.1790° S, 175.1982° W
Tonga Capital CityNuku'alofa
Surrounding Country in TongaFiji and Wallis and Futuna (France) to the northwest, Samoa to the northeast, Niue to the east, Kermadec to the southwest, and New Caledonia (France) and Vanuatu to the farther west. It is about 1,800 kilometres (1,100 mi) from New Zealand's North Island
Official LanguagesTongan, English
Total Islands169 islands, of which 36 are inhabited
GovernmentConstitutional Monarchy
Area of Tonga748 km2 (289 sq mi)
Suface Area750 square kilometres (290 sq mi)
Population of Tonga100,651 (2016)
Ethnic GroupsPolynesian 98%
Religion of TongaChristian
Tonga CurrencyTongan Pa'anga (Top)
Tonga Time ZoneUTC +13h
Tonga ISO CodeTo
Tonga Calling Code+676