Map of Midwestern Region States, USA - Midwestern States States and Capitals

Midwestern Region States United State, is one of four census regions of the United States Census Bureau.

Map of Midwestern Region States, USA

Map of USA Midwestern Region States About Map - Map showing Midwestern Region States United States.

Midwestern States

The Midwestern United States is one of the four census regions recognized by the United States Census Bureau. It is also known as the Midwest or the American Midwest. It is located in the north-central region of the country. Until 1984, the Census Bureau referred to it as the North Central Region. It is situated between the Northeastern and Western United States, with Canada to the north and the Southern United States to the south. As defined by the Census Bureau, the Midwestern United States includes 12 states and they are Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota,

Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

The Census Bureau has divided the Midwest into two regions. Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, and Wisconsin are all included in the East North Central Division and are all a part of the Great Lakes region. The Great Plains region is home to several of the states in the West North Central Division, including Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, and South Dakota.

With roughly 12.7 million residents, Illinois is the largest state in the Midwest and the sixth-largest state in the United States. Indiana is the smallest state among Midwestern States. Chicago is the third-most populous city in the country and the most populated in the American Midwest. After Chicago, he largest cities in Midwestern United States are Indianapolis and Detroit. Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus, Des Moines, Kansas City, Madison, Milwaukee, Minneapolis, Omaha, St. Louis, and Wichita are some of the other significant cities in the area.

The Midwest's local economies depend heavily on agriculture, which generates thousands of jobs and billions of dollars in exports. The region contains some of the most productive agricultural land on earth. The Midwest's main financial and commercial hub, Chicago has the third-highest gross metropolitan product in North America.

The Midwestern Region United States consists of twelve states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. Popular cities in the Midwestern Region are Chicago, Indianapolis, Des Moines, Detroit, Minneapolis, Saint Paul, Kansas City,, Lincoln, Bismarck, Columbus and Milwaukee.

  • US Regions Map
  • Counties in the US
  • US Population by State
  • USA Time Zones Map
  • US ZIP Code Map
  • US State Abbreviations
  • US State Nicknames
  • US National Parks
  • Largest Lakes in USA
  • List of Southern United States with Capitals

    StateCapitalMajor CitiesPopulaion 2020 CensusLand Area (Sq mi)Density (Sq mi)Total County
    IllinoisSpringfieldChicago, Aurora, Rockford, Joliet, Naperville and Springfield12,812,50855,519 sq mi (143,793 km2)232102
    IndianaIndianapolisIndianapolis, Fort Wayne, Evansville, South Bend and Hammond6,785,52835,826 sq mi (92,789 km2)184.192
    IowaDes MoinesDes Moines, Cedar Rapids, Davenport, Sioux City and Waterloo3,190,36955,857 sq mi (144,669 km2)55.699
    KansasTopekaWichita, Overland Park, Kansas City, Topeka and Olathe2,937,88081,759 sq mi (211,754 km2)35.5105
    MichiganLansingDetroit, Grand Rapids, Warren, Sterling Heights, Lansing and Lansing10,077,33156,539 sq mi (146,435 km2)175.383
    MinnesotaSaint PaulMinneapolis, Saint Paul, Rochester, Duluth and Bloomington5,706,49479,627 sq mi (206,232 km2)68.587
    MissouriJefferson CityKansas City, Saint Louis, Springfield, Independence, Columbia and Jefferson City6,154,91368,742 sq mi (178,040 km2)88.2115
    NebraskaLincolnOmaha, Lincoln, Bellevue, Grand Island and Kearney1,961,50476,824 sq mi (198,974 km2)24.593
    North DakotaBismarckFargo, Bismarck, Grand Forks, Minot and West Fargo779,09469,001 sq mi (178,711 km2)10.753
    OhioColumbusColumbus, Cleveland, Cincinnati, Toledo and Akron11,799,44840,861 sq mi (105,829 km2)283.788
    South DakotaPierreSioux Falls, Rapid City, Aberdeen, Brookings, Watertown and Pierre886,66775,811 sq mi (196,350 km2)11.366
    WisconsinMadisonMilwaukee, Madison, Green Bay, Kenosha and Racine5,893,71854,158 sq mi (140,268 km2)106.372

    MAP of United States Regions

  • Mid Atlantic States Map
  • New England States Map
  • Western United States Map
  • East North Central States Map
  • Central Atlantic States Map
  • Midwestern United States Map
  • East South Central States Map
  • Mountain States Map
  • Usa East Coast Map
  • Pacific States Map
  • U.S. West Coast Map
  • Southern United States Map
  • West South Central States Map
  • West North Central States Map
  • Midwest USA States Map
  • US Gulf Coast Map
  • South Atlantic States Map
  • USA Northeast States Map
  • World Countries and Capitals

  • Asian Countries and Capitals
  • North American Countries and Capitals
  • Europe Countries and Capitals
  • South American Countries and Capitals
  • African Countries and Capitals
  • Oceana Countries and Capitals
  • US States and Capitals
  • States and Capitals of India