Seven Wonders of the World

List of Seven Wonders of the World, 7 wonders are categorised by Natural Wonders of the World, Ancient 7 Wonders of the World, New 7 Wonders of the World and 7 Wonders of the Modern World.

Natural Seven Wonders of the World

Natural Wonders of the WorldLocation
Grand CanyonArizona, United States
The Great Barrier ReefAustralia
The Harbor at Rio de JaneiroBrazil
Mt. EverestSagarmatha Zone, Nepal
Northern LightsNorthern Canada, Northern Europe, and Northern Asia.
Paricutin VolcanoUruapan Municipality, Michoacan, Mexico
Victoria FallsZambia, Livingstone, Zimbabwe

Ancient Seven Wonders of the World

Ancient 7 Wonders of the WorldLocation
Great Pyramid of GizaEgypt
Lighthouse of AlexandriaEgypt
Colossus of RhodesGreece
Hanging Gardens of BabylonIraq
Mausoleum at HalicarnassusTurkey
Statue of Zeus at OlympiaGreece
Temple of Artemis at EphesusTurkey

New Seven Wonders of the World

New 7 Wonders of the WorldLocation
Taj MahalIndia
Great Wall OF ChinaChina
Chichen Itza Mexico
Christ Redeemer Brazil
Machu Picchu Peru
Petra (Ancient City) Jordan
Roman Colosseum Italy

Modern Seven Wonders of the World

7 Wonders of the Modern WorldLocation
Channel TunnelFrance
CN Tower, Toronto, Ontario, CanadaToronto, Ontario, Canada
Empire State BuildingNew York, NY, U.S.
Golden Gate BridgeGolden Gate Strait, north of San Francisco, California, U.S.
Itaipu DamParana River, between Brazil and Paraguay
Netherlands North Sea Protection WorksNetherlands
Panama CanalIsthmus of Panama

New Seven Wonders of the World

A campaign called The New 7 Wonders of the World was launched in 2000 to select the Seven Wonders of the World from a list of 200 existing historic buildings. The New 7 Wonders Foundation, located in Zurich, Switzerland, coordinated the popular survey with free online voting and a little amount of telephone voting. The winners were announced on July 7, 2007 in Lisbon at Estadio da Luz. The new Seven Wonders of the World are Great Wall of China, Petra, Colosseum, Chichen Itza, Machu Picchu, Taj Mahal and Christ the Redeemer.

1.Great Wall of China- Seven Wonders of the World

The Great Wall of China, one of the largest major construction projects in the world, is generally believed to be roughly 5,500 miles (8,850 km) long. However, a disputed Chinese research states the length is 13,170 miles (21,200 km). The Work started in the seventh century BCE and lasted for a thousand years.

2. Petra- Seven Wonders of the World

The historic Jordanian city of Petra is tucked away in a lonely valley between cliffs and mountains made of sandstone. It was said to be one of the locations where Moses supposedly struck a rock and water sprang out of it. It later became the capital of the Nabataeans, an Arab tribe, and during this period, it flourished and developed into a significant trading hub, particularly for spices.

3. Colosseum - Seven Wonders of the World

Vespasian, the Roman emperor, gave the order to construct the Colosseum in the first century. The amphitheater's dimensions are 620 by 513 feet (189 by 156 meters), and it has a sophisticated vaulting system. It is an engineering marvel. It could accommodate 50,000 spectators who came to enjoy a variety of events. Gladiator battles were perhaps the most famous, though men fighting animals was also prevalent.

4. Chichen Itza - Seven Wonders of the World

On the Yucatán Peninsula in Mexico, a Mayan metropolis called Chichén Itzá flourished in the ninth and tenth centuries CE. The Mayan tribe Itzá, who were heavily influenced by the Toltecs, constructed numerous significant monuments and temples. The construction has a total of 365 steps, which corresponds to the number of days in a solar year, and is a monument to the Mayans' astrological prowess. The spring and fall equinoxes produce shadows on the pyramid that appear to be a serpent sliding down the north stairs; a stone snake head is located at the base.

5. Manchu Picchu - Seven Wonders of the World

Hiram Bingham claimed to have "found" an Incan site in Cuzco, Peru, in 1911. He thought Vilcabamba, a hidden Incan bastion utilized during the 16th-century uprising against Spanish control, was located there. The reason for Machu Picchu has baffled academics, despite the fact that this assertion was ultimately proven false. According to Bingham, it was the residence of the "Virgins of the Sun," nuns who took a vow of celibacy and resided in convents. While some people say it was a royal retreat, others feel it was most likely a pilgrimage site.

6. Taj Mahal - Seven Wonders of the World

One of the most iconic structures in the world and possibly the best example of Mughal architecture is this monument in Agra, India. To honor his wife Mumtz Maal, Emperor Shah Jahn (reigned 1628–1588) constructed it. The great monument, which has an enormous park with a reflecting pool, was built over the course of around 22 years by 20,000 employees. Semiprecious stones are arranged in geometric and floral designs on a white marble foundation of the mausoleum. There are four smaller domes encircling the grand center dome.

7. Christ the Redeemer - Seven Wonders of the World

Rio de Janeiro's Mount Corcovado is home to the enormous statue of Jesus known as Christ the Redeemer. Its beginnings can be traced back to the immediate aftermath of World War I, when some Brazilians feared a "tide of godlessness." The building process started in 1926 and was finished in 1927. It is the world's largest Art Deco sculpture. About six million tiles cover the reinforced concrete structure of Christ the Redeemer. Uncomfortably, lightning has frequently struck the monument.