Kern County Map, California

Map of Kern County - Kern County is a county located in the U.S. state of California. Kern County Map showing cities, highways, important places and water bodies. Get Where is Kern County located in the map, major cities in Kern county, population, areas, and places of interest.

Kern County Map, California

Map of Kern County, California

About Kern County Map, California: The map showing the county boundary, county seat, major cities, highways, water bodies and neighbouring counties.

Most Viewed Links

  • USA Time Zones Map
  • USA Region Map
  • USA Road Map
  • USA County Map
  • Where is USA in World Map?
  • US ZIP Code Map
  • Cities in USA
  • US State and Capitals Map
  • USA Physical Map
  • United States Map
  • US National Parks
  • Lakes in USA
  • About Kern County, California

    Kern County is a county located in the southern part of the state of California in the United States. Its county seat is Bakersfield. The county is known for its diverse economy, which includes agriculture, oil and gas production, aerospace, and manufacturing.

    Kern County has a population of approximately 900,000 people and covers an area of about 8,163 square miles. The county is the largest producer of oil in the state of California and is also a major producer of agriculture products such as grapes, almonds, and citrus fruits. The Tehachapi Mountains, part of the Sierra Nevada range, also run through the eastern part of the county, providing opportunities for outdoor recreational activities.

    Bakersfield is the largest community in Kern County and serves as the county seat. Other communities in the county include Delano, Ridgecrest, Tehachapi, and California City.

    Kern County Facts

    County InfoFacts
    CountyKern County
    County SeatBakersfield
    CountryUnited States
    FIPS code29
    Area8,142 sq mi (21,088 km2)
    Formed / OriginLos Angeles and Tulare

    Ctities and Towns in Kern County

    City NameTypePopulation (2020)Pop. DensityAreaIncorporated
    ArvinCity19,4954,044.6/sq mi (1,561.6/km2)4.82 sq mi (12.5 km2)December 21, 1960
    BakersfieldCity403,4552,693.7/sq mi (1,040.0/km2)149.78 sq mi (387.9 km2)January 11, 1898
    California CityCity14,97373.5/sq mi (28.4/km2)203.61 sq mi (527.3 km2)December 10, 1965
    DelanoCity51,4283,493.8/sq mi (1,348.9/km2)14.72 sq mi (38.1 km2)April 13, 1915
    MaricopaCity1,026653.5/sq mi (252.3/km2)1.57 sq mi (4.1 km2)July 25, 1911
    McFarlandCity14,1615,284.0/sq mi (2,040.1/km2)2.68 sq mi (6.9 km2)July 18, 1957
    RidgecrestCity27,9591,340.3/sq mi (517.5/km2)20.86 sq mi (54 km2)November 29, 1963
    ShafterCity19,953515.6/sq mi (199.1/km2)38.7 sq mi (100.2 km2)January 20, 1938
    TaftCity8,546559.7/sq mi (216.1/km2)15.27 sq mi (39.5 km2)November 7, 1910
    TehachapiCity12,9391,261.1/sq mi (486.9/km2)10.26 sq mi (26.6 km2)August 13, 1909
    WascoCity27,0472,880.4/sq mi (1,112.1/km2)9.39 sq mi (24.3 km2)December 22, 1945

    Places to Visit in Kern County

    Top places to visit in Inyo includes Zabriskie Point, Ancient Bristlecone Pine, Ubehebe Crater, Badwater Basin, Manzanar, Mobius Arch Loop Trailhead, Mesquite Flat Sand Dunes, Eastern Sierra Visitor Center, Bishop Pass Trailhead, Golden Canyon Trailhead, Mosaic Canyon Trail, Titus Canyon Road, Wildrose Charcoal Kilns, Laws Railroad Museum, Mount Whitney, Darwin Falls, Eureka Dunes, Lone Pine Lake .

    Highways in Kern County

    U.S. Route 6, U.S. Route 395, State Route 127, State Route 136, State Route 168, State Route 178, State Route 190.

    Nearest Airports

    Nearest airport of Kern is Eastern Sierra Regional Airport.