List of Benin Departments and Capitals

Benin, officially known as the Republic of Benin, is a country located in West Africa. As of my knowledge cutoff in September 2021, Benin is divided into 12 departments. However, please note that administrative divisions can change over time, so it's always a good idea to verify the most up-to-date information. Here are the 12 departments of Benin as of my last update:

Benin Departments and Capitals Map

DepartmentCapital Population Area (km2) RegionSub-Region
AliboriKandi868,04626,242NorthNorth East
AtakoraNatitingou769,33720,499NorthNorth West
AtlantiqueAllada1,396,5483,233SouthSouth Centre
BorgouParakou1,202,09525,856NorthNorth East
CollinesDassa-Zoumé716,55813,931SouthSouth Centre
KouffoAplahoué741,8952,404SouthSouth West
DongaDjougou542,60511,126NorthNorth West
LittoralCotonou678,87479SouthSouth Centre
MonoLokossa495,3071,605SouthSouth West
OuéméPorto-Novo1,096,8501,281SouthSouth East
PlateauPobè624,1463,264SouthSouth East
ZouAbomey851,6235,243SouthSouth Centre
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Last Updated: Saturday, Mar 10, 2024 19:47 PM IST