List of Syria Provinces and Capitals

I apologize for the confusion in my previous response. The correct term for the administrative divisions in Syria is "Governorates" or "Muhafazat" in Arabic. Here are the 14 governorates of Syria:

Syria Provinces and Capitals Map

Governorate Area (km2)Population (2018)Population density (km2)
Aleppo Governorate18,4824,600,166249
Raqqa Governorate19,616919,00047
As-Suwayda Governorate5,550500,00066
Damascus Governorate1062,211,04220,859
Daraa Governorate3,730998,000268
Deir ez-Zor Governorate33,0601,200,50036
Hama Governorate8,8831,593,000179
Homs Governorate42,2231,762,50042
Idlib Governorate6,0971,464,000240
Latakia Governorate2,2971,278,486557
Quneitra Governorate1,86187,00047
Rif Dimashq Governorate18,0322,831,738157
Tartus Governorate1,892785,000415

Last Updated: Saturday, Mar 10, 2024 19:47 PM IST